What’s in a name ?

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other word would smell as sweet.”

William Shakespeare in Romeo and Juliet

Well, I did realize that “name” does play a big part in this world. It’s funny how “Name” , “Fame” and “Shame” rhyme fine, but somehow Name and Fame go so well together and Shame is nowhere near them.

Anyway, coming to the point, I attended a PÀ£ÀßqÀ ¸ÀÄUÀªÀÄ ¸ÀAVÃvÀ program over the weekend. Not getting into names, let me just say that the singer is quite well known for his rendition. I have heard him sing quite well on several different occasions. But, I had several issues with his concert last weekend.

He sang four songs and even before he started singing, I had actually guessed the exact four songs. The same singer had toured in 1998 and had sung these same four songs, in the same order !!! Kannada poetry is so rich. It was so disappointing to see such a well-known singer stick to just the same old four songs. Absolutely no innovation and creativity and a huge disservice to the Kannada poets and all the music lovers.

The bigger problem I had with the concert was the fact that the singer had absolutely no control on the ‘shruti’. Well, he is quite well known to have no regard for ‘shruti’, whatsover. But, there is a limit. All the four songs were atrocious to listen to.

There were people who walked out of the auditorium. And, there were people around us who were just chatting away during the concert. Then I saw the third kind, at the end of the concert. Yes sir, I am not exaggerating – a small set got up to give him a standing ovation. It quickly turned out to be a chain reaction. Half the auditorium was standing and clapping.

That’s exactly why I have to question Shakespeare when he says “What’s in a name ?”. Indeed there is a lot !!! Human beings have the tendency to accept anything and everything thrown at them by a famous personality. It ain’t have to be any good, my friend.

Now, you may question my judgement and say that the people who gave standing ovation may have really liked the concert. No sir, the singing was not even bordering melody, it was outright difficult to listen to. Just believe me. The saving grace was that there was another half of the auditorium which did not bother to get up and give a standing ovation. That should at least say that not every human being is behind name and fame.

As Prof. Nissar Ahmed has rightly said

PÀÄjUÀ¼ÀÄ ¸Ágï PÀÄjUÀ¼ÀÄ £Áªï PÀÄjUÀ¼ÀÄ  

Explore posts in the same categories: Kannada, Life, Music

7 Comments on “What’s in a name ?”

  1. vittal Says:

    No control on ‘Shruti’? It kills the program! I had a similar experience in Puttur Narasimha Nayak’s program. Sorry for naming the artist here. Your post just brought back some of the old memories!


  2. LOL @ Vittal. I thought I was being diplomatically critical. Well, I didn’t realize that the memories were that old. That is truly sad how we blindly go behind names.

    Thanks for the comments Vittal, please keep visitng the blog and put in your valuable comments.

  3. nilagriva Says:

    Good to see that you’ve finally started blogging. Keep writing!

  4. ಧೀರೇಂದ್ರ ಗೋಪಾಲ್ Says:

    ಬೊಂಬಾಟು ಗುರು …ಹೀಗೆ ಮುಂದುವರಿಯಲಿ

  5. decemberstud Says:

    LOL @ DG : thanks guru…ellA nimma daye 🙂


  6. What was that you were trying to say! ? Sugama sangeeta andrene haage, ella sugamavaagi saagatte.. shruthi ella classical songs^ge guru antha.. 😉

    I remember having attended some classical concerts at Mysore where it was witnessed by people like GTN etc., I was not aware a critic can speak that bad on the performance of the singer when I thought he tremendously well. Its not just the name DS, may be people ignorance! If I make my hubby hear a film song with full zing zang without Shruthi.. he would say! I remember a post on vijay’s blog where people spoke about shruthi etc.,

    Take it cool DS! ellanu nimma standard ge nodibitre ? I agree you come from a family where the sugama sangeeta is part of the routine 😉


Leave a Reply

