Then and Now

Now that it has been some time that I got married, I started wondering about changes within me. And, I came up with top 5 under each of the three categories listed below.  

Good Change : 

  • A set morning routine – drink coffee at leisure, read newspaper in detail (including comics, bridge, and crossword) etc.
  • Go to bed early.
  • Drive within speed limits (the reason was not just marriage, still….)
  • Ego Check (my wife has played more than a fair share in making sure of this)
  • I have realized, that I am not a saint, that I thought I was

Not so good change : 

  • Drink coffee everyday (yep, that’s me, who swore by chocolate powder and milk all these years)
  • Stopped watching movies (I still love to, but she has absolutely no interest L).
  • I am almost forgetting how to cook.
  • I have stopped making my bed the minute I get up (in fact, I hardly make my bed now).
  • I am not keeping up time (absolutely no fault of wife, but it’s such a coincidence that I was so punctual before marriage and now I am not).

No change : 

  • Browse the internet (I am almost done finishing it)
  • Get up late (but see, I’ve started sleeping early, so I have improved at least half way J )
  • Still a chatter box
  • I still think Cricket is the BEST game in the world (inspite of my wife explaining all the rules for Golf, Rugby, F-1 and NASCAR…yeah she has weird tastes J )
  • Music and writing are still my favorite hobbies.
Explore posts in the same categories: Life

13 Comments on “Then and Now”

  1. Vijay Says:

    DS:
    Interesting post.. especially about the making beds and cooking… and hey great that your wife knows Golf.. learn it !!

    I was a good cook.. now I am not.. mainly because the kitchen is completely under madam’s control… cant find anything !!

  2. Vittal Says:

    It’s very clever of you not to say a word on the financial front! Smiles…

  3. rk Says:

    d-stud,
    as vijay said, interesting post. prapanchadalli maduve aadamele badalavane nishchita. married people may tell, “i haven’t changed after marriage” antha…..but changes happen sometimes even without your knowledge.
    was just curious to know if your tummy shape has also changed after marriage! 😉

  4. decemberstud Says:

    @ Vijay : Thanks…..same here. It’s literally impossible to find anything in the kitchen. In the name of “keeping things in an organized manner”, I am lost….

    @Vittal : Seriously…I don’t own the financial portfolio anymore…I have been given the independent charge of car driving and maintenance 😉

    @RK : Oh well, I would be a fool to say that I haven’t changed after marriage. The changes have definitely happened and it is quite obvious. As for the tummy, the entire world keeps asking me why I am losing weight after marriage, and my wife is quite puzzled herself…..So, there’s your answer….LOL

  5. Srik Says:

    Good explaination!! Helpful for bachelors like me.

  6. decemberstud Says:

    LOL Srik….glad it helped 🙂

  7. decemberstud Says:

    Yep OI, marriage does change a lot of stuff….:)

  8. Veena Shivanna Says:

    Hengasaru wife avataara taaLodu gaMdasaranna uddaara maadokke anthe 🙂 Attisikondu dayaviTTu hoDibedi…

    I know why December stud is still wise even being anonymous 🙂 It all because of that great lady behind(next to?) him 🙂

    Our Girish Hampali said this to us.. He beleive in Life is wife analogy! No examples more than this alve ?

  9. decemberstud Says:

    LOL Veena……So, you still think I am wise, huh ? Since I am anonymous, I thought you would have branded me as an ‘illogical idiot’ 😉

    Well, we do have the regular up’s and down’s of the marriage, but she is indeed an excellent person. It’s too soon, but I have been learning more about her as the days go by. Thanks for the comments !!!

    Life is wife, huh ? I should mention to a few people here….:)

  10. Veena Shivanna Says:

    I was infact wondering why you sending me any email. I am very bad at blogging & browsing. I generally receive emails from people since I am quite regular on emails.
    Well, nice to see this comment. I would say I would like to meet that excellent person before even if I want to see you. I have recently joined this group of blogging & Commenting(courtesy – first bencher in college:-)).

    Honestly, If I share this idea of meeting an anonymous meeting with my great soul(Hubby).. He would restrict me from doing it.. He will say its not safe(Quite obvious).. If I have to meet any new person, he would tell me to tell my in-laws that I am meeting either my class mate or college or relative.. My in-laws are quite old & if I hear about their DIL meeting some anonymous blogger, they would think otherwise! It happens only in India antha heLballe ashTe 🙂 😉

    I am confident about my doctor husband that he would never browse your site since he is not computer savvy niether interested in blogging /networking otherwise he would say there was no need to say all these in public… He is a doctor by profession & I can very much expect this behaviour from him alve ?

  11. Veena Shivanna Says:

    Read my previous comment as
    “I was infact wondering why you didn’t send me any email. “

  12. decemberstud Says:

    Well, Veena…we’ll see…you never know 🙂

    Good luck !!!


Leave a Reply

