Past the Fork

PÀtð, UÁA¢ü, PÀĪÉA¥ÀÅjUÉ £À«Ä¸ÀÄvÀÛ

¤ªÀÄäAvÉ £Á£À®è ¤ÃªÉ£ÀUÉ ¨ÉÃQ®è

JAzÀµÉÖ ºÉüÀÄvÀÛ CªÀÄgÀvÀé §AiÀĸÀÄvÀÛ

PÀȵÀÚ, §ÄzÀÞ, PÁgÀAvÀgÀ£ÀÄ £À£ÉÆß¼ÀUÉ ºÀÄqÀÄPÀÄwºÉ 

And the English translation:

Bowing to Karna, Gandhi and Kuvempu

I am unlike you, and I don’t need you

is all I sang; In search of eternity

I am looking for Krishna, Buddha and Karanth inside me 

For my non-Kannadiga friends, Kuvempu is a great Kannada poet and Dr. Shivaram Karanth is a larger-than-life personality and a multi-faceted writer. Both have won the Bharatiya Jnanpeeth. It is hard to examine their lives in a small blog post, so I will leave it at that. But, you can get the gist of the poem even without these two names in it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

3 Comments on “Past the Fork”


  1. So what did you conclude on your last post ? Is this the answer to that one ?
    Jeevandalli neevella guarantee uddaara aagalla bidri 😉 Again Uddhaara is something of my own definition, not like what others think.. amele vichaaristeeni biDi.. let all comment & I shall conclude may be!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Srik Says:

    for those who want to know about Kuvempu : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kuvempu
    and about Karanth : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shivarama_Karanth

    These are among the two great Kannada literati whose work can be compared with that of any great literature in the whole of world, they say.

    And coming to your poem, can’t put it simpler isn’t it ;)?
    But we can not ruleout Karna Kuvempu and Gandhi out right, alwe?

  3. decemberstud Says:

    @ Veena : It is not easy to conclude anything on that post. This is just another path to take, that’s all. And, I will sure wait to see what your conclusion is.

    @ Srik : Thanks for adding the wikipedia links. LOL….a lot of my poems are much simpler, but couldn’t resist putting this up….in fact these are the simplest lines from that poem 🙂 And, you are right, we cannot rule out anything and anyone outright. Thus, I bow to them in the beginning, which implicitly says that I don’t rule them out, but prefer the other three for the ‘ultimate’ truth’, if I cn call it that.


Leave a Reply

