Veni ! Vidi !! Vici !!! – Almost

When I was studying Engineering in India, it was a big deal to wear specially designed class T-shirts every year. Students from each engineering branch and batch had their own T-shirts. Once, Electrical Engineering students from my batch had a real nice T-shirt with the following written in big bold letters:

Vidi ! Vici !! Veni !!!

Creative ? or Dirty ?

You figure…but I gave out a big clue already. And yes, I loved it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Junk

23 Comments on “Veni ! Vidi !! Vici !!! – Almost”

  1. Anil Anand Says:

    DS,

    Some years back there was this t-shirt that got very famous. it had the following line.

    “I was born a genius……….education spoilt me”. What say?


  2. @ DS

    Big clue… no question about it. Conquer before arriving… thats quite ingenius to say the least. And you did choose the right category for this post 😉

  3. rk Says:

    ds,
    reading the title, i thought it was the shortened names of 3 good friends: Nagaveni, Vidita and Vishali. 😉

    yes, we too had class t-shirts. and i designed one of them with caricatures of all my classmates.

  4. prashanth Says:

    We had something written like – “We go beyond your expectations!!” – huh!!

    Talking about t-shirts, came across this site http://www.naadunudi.com – who are selling t-shirts with kannada wordings


  5. DS…

    Was your subject Electrical Engg ? It reminded me my 5th sem or 3rd sem subject SSAD . Dr. KN Bhanuprakash sir had taught me this hence I remember so well.
    You are are talking about a simple LCR Circuit where V is the voltage near the power supply, C is the capacitor connected, R the resistance.. Vi represents the current passing through the node where power supply is connected. Ri is the current flowing through the resistance & same as Ci for capacitro. Ni is the current flowing through a Node I suppose. I could as well draw the circuit & represent.
    I am from Instrumentation dept & we had some subjects from Electronics & electrical & rest of all the dept. 🙂

    That was cool post DS.. Technically Junk… 😉

    T Shirt sometimes are so weird & bad.. I hate people when write nonsense on that too. Instigating again… Let me cool down… 🙂


  6. Oh there is Di in VIDI.. I forgot this part..

    Only thing D reminds is the diameter & d=2R where R is the radius… I am unable to recall this electrical D sorry.. its already almost a decade back I studied my Nagrath & Gopal text with hard bound green wrapper…


  7. Today I am wearing a T-Shirt which has the note “ವಿಸ್ಮಯ ಸಿರಿಗನ್ನಡಂ ಗೆಲ್ಗೆ” with red & yellow winning V….!
    DS.. your post also reminded me that book/movie Da Vinci Code.. I don’t know why.

  8. pegasus Says:

    can someone explain me the meaning…. sorry my circuits fused at the mention of the word engineering studies

  9. Srik Says:

    Veena u r much better, cheer up 🙂

    As pegasus said, all the circuits were blown up after reading this post 😦


  10. Many of IT people are Junk(including me) I believe..

    CTRL C & CTRL V –> if these keys are removed from the keyboard.. & google server is down.. Then…?

    Ha Ha… 😉

  11. pegasus Says:

    there is a yahoo mail server, and wordpress also 😉

  12. decemberstud Says:

    @ All :
    As some guys have said, I guess too many circuits are blown. Sorry, that wasn’t the intention, maybe I should have given the English translation with it. I thought I gave ample clue when I said “Creative ? or Dirty ?”

    “Veni ! Vidi !! Vici !!!” is a famous quote from Julius Ceasar after winning Asia Minor. It literally translates to “I Came ! I Saw !! I Conquered !!!”. Now you can figure out what “Vidi ! Vici !! Veni !!!” meant, especially the creativity oozing out of boys in their late teens and early 20’s. Alright, I will shut up now. It’s inappropriate to explain more 😉

    @ Anil :
    I remember seeing that Tshirt. But, I can’t recall where I saw that. I thought it was pretty cool. One of my T-shirts which people love has a “Life’s Short, Make Fun of it” on it.

    @ OI :
    Absolutely, I couldn’t put this in any other category. It also goes to show how creativity can be junk 🙂

    @ RK :
    LOL…No. I bet you still have your class Tshirt. You should really put it on your blog, I am sure it will be wonderful to see (and comment 😉 ).

    @ Prashanth :
    That is a funny line. I always admire the new ones. Hey, those Kananda Tshirts look cool. We should buy. They should come up with a few more funny designs though. taht will be real neat.

    @ Veena :
    No, not Electrical Engineering. Yes, this post is technically a junk, but not a technical junk 🙂 So, no LCR circuits here.

    @ Pegasus :
    Hope my explanation above helps 🙂

    @ Srik :
    Time to recharge the batteries buddy. I have provided the charger at the top of this comment 😉 Even broken circuits will come back to life.

  13. pegasus Says:

    :)) yups… I guess I will have to add Latin to the languages I need to learn


  14. @ DS

    “creativity can be junk ” – you’re giving them way too much credit man.. 🙂 LOL

  15. decemberstud Says:

    @ Pegasus :
    LOL….no just a few flashy words will do !!!

    @ OI :
    Naaaah……’they’ deserve all the credit 😉


  16. ಎಲ್ಲಿ ನಾರಿಯದು ಪೂಜಿಸ್ಲ್ಪಡುತಾರೋ, ಅಲ್ಲಿ ದೇವರು ನೆಲೆಸಿರುತ್ತಾನೆ! – ಭಗವದ್ಗೀತೆ(??)

    which trasnlates to….

    Where woman are respected, GOD stays there…

  17. Vittal Says:

    Someone mentioned…“Dr. KN Bhanuprakash Sir”!! WOW!! Isn’t he the tall, pot belly, green eyed, stone faced lecturer? Talking about green eyes – there was another lecturer with green eyes – Dwarkanath?
    Ok – enough. Probably most of you don’t know what I am talking about!!
    😉

  18. decemberstud Says:

    Sure…but I don’t understand the reason for such a quote in this post !!!

  19. silkboard Says:

    “CTRL C & CTRL V –> if these keys are removed from the keyboard.. & google server is down.. Then…?”

    We will use ALT + E, C, ALT+ E,P. And we will switch to yahoo or msn.

    BTW, We can sure live without google. It is a monopoly we can manage without.

  20. rk Says:

    ds,
    as rightly saidby silkboard, google is a monopoly we can manage without.
    made this “anuku geethe” some time back:

    Bloggers ella jaanaralla
    Readers ella konaralla
    GOOGLE helida maathugalella
    endu nijavalla…..

  21. mouna Says:

    i feel kinda out of place, a lone bio student. people here talk about computer git-mit!

    @ srik: all circuits blown out!! 😉 and ds, charging it up, lols

    when we have a t-shirt, we’ll ob have no physical strings attached to it. will churn out something like ‘a lone bio kid out here, talk bio, eat bio, sleep bio!’ which will definately make heads turn. 🙂

  22. decemberstud Says:

    @ Silkboard :
    True, but I have to admit that I am a MAJOR fan of all the fancy google products. The only big exceptions are “Gmail” and “Answers”. I use “Yahoo Mail” all the time and “Yahoo Answers” are pretty neat. I am almost on the verge of moving completely out of “Yahoo Finance” to “Google Finance”. My wife on the other hand is a big Yahoo fan. Well, I use WordPress for blogging, though 🙂

    @ RK :
    I was laughing so ahrd reading your ‘aNaku geete’. That si too funny, even though I am a big Google fan 😉

    @ Mouna :
    LOL….that is pretty cool !!! I bet several heads will turn 🙂


  23. Hey Vittal.. Another Mysorean.. & of course another IT guy.. ! Great to see you. which year passed out man?


Leave a Reply

