Seventh Heaven Or Six Feet Under ?

Guess what…this guy walks up to me the other day in a party and asks me to write the screenplay for a Kannada tele-serial that he is planning. I am sure there are thousands of such ideas floating around everyday. So, it’s not right to count the chickens before the eggs hatch. But still….me sitting in some corner of the world writing the dialogues for a Kannada tele-serial. That IS funny, isn’t it ? 

The guy who spoke to me is apparently a big fan of UR Ananthamurthy. When I told him that I am currently reading ‘maMdra’ written by SL Bhyrappa (read as URA’s nemesis…ok ok, that’s a joke), he just nodded his head. But, I guess he was convinced that I am the right person to pen his serial when I told him that Bendre, in my opinion, was one of the greatest ever Kannada writers. 

Oh, and I don’t think I have mentioned this before. I have to tell you that a few months back, I was approached by someone to see if they can use some of my poems in their movie. I am sure that was one of those “thousands of ideas floating around”, remember ? LOL….

Explore posts in the same categories: Kannada, Literature

17 Comments on “Seventh Heaven Or Six Feet Under ?”


  1. DS,

    Let that (whatever you mentioned here, which is in ‘proposal’ state) be a reality and then you be on ‘cloud nine’!


  2. @DS

    Do you read Kannada magazines or have access to those? If yes, URA replied to my email to him (about the Bangalore name change) saying he has replied to me and thousands of others like me in a Kannada magazine after knowing I don’t read or understand Kannada. Maybe you could help.

    Good luck with the TV serial… maybe that’ll provide an incentive to move back to India…what say?

  3. rk Says:

    i already visualised the title card:

    KATHE-SAMBHASHANE
    DISEMBAR STUDD

    another scene:
    me listening to the radio on vividhbharathi. rj tells: kunigalninda mohana, manujy, raja, kumara mattu geetha, eejipuradinda somanna, suresha, raamu, parvathi mattu geetha. ivarellaru mecchiddare Bloglokada Bhairava chitrada geethe. Haadiddare Rajesh mattu Chitra. Geetha Rachane: Disembar Studd. “aaaaa…..tananam ……”


  4. ತುಂಬಾ ಸಂತೋಷ ಆಯಿತು ಕೇಳಿ… ಬೆಳ್ಳೂರ್ ಅಂತು ಸಿಕ್ಕಾಪಟ್ಟೆ!! ಏನಿದು, ಗಿರೀಶ್ ಹಂಪಾಳಿ, ನೀವು ಎಲ್ಲ ನಿಮ್ಮ ಕೆಲ್ಸ ಜೊತೆ ರೇಡಿಯೋ ಕೂಡ ? ತುಂಬಾ ಒಳ್ಳೇ ಸುದ್ದಿ.

    ನಾವಂತು ಕಾಯಿಕೊಂಡು ಇದೀವಿ, ಇವರು ನಮ್ಮ ಪರಿಚತದವರಪ್ಪ ಅಂತಾ ಹೆಳ್ಕೊಳೊಕ್ಕೆ…! ಹೆಳ್ಳ್ಕೊಬಹುದು ತಾನೆ ? ಅದಕ್ಕೊ ರಾಯಳ್ಟಿ ಕೇಳುತ್ತೀರಾ? ?

    ಸ್ಪರ್ಶ ಸಿನಿಮಾ ದಲ್ಲಿ, ಯಾರೋ ಇಟ್ಟಗಿ ಅನ್ನೊರ್ ಶಾಯರಿ ಉಪಯೋಗಿಸಿದ್ದಾರೆ ದೇಸಾಯಿಯವರು ಗೊತ್ತಾ ?…. ಶುಭಾಶಯಗಳು ಸಾರ್!!…. ನಿಮ್ಮ ತಂದೆ ತಾಯಿಯರು ಬಹುಶಃ ತಮ್ಮ ಸು’ಕುಮಾರ’ ಕಂಠೀದವನ ಬಗ್ಗೆ ಹೆಮ್ಮೆ ಪಡಬೇಕಾದ ಸಂಗತಿಯೆ ಬಿಡಿ!! 🙂

  5. prashanth Says:

    way to go DS…

    lol@RK… aa kunigalninda mohana annodanna – kunigalninda prashantha antane haakabahudittalve 😛

  6. mouna Says:

    @ sj, very true.

    terming things as funny, maybe your perspective. probably the guy really meant what he said. do i now, have friend, who writes kathe-sambhashaNe? 🙂

  7. decemberstud Says:

    @ All :
    Thanks, but remember, never count the chickens beofre the eggs hatch 🙂 I really thought this was offer was funny. But, I have to tell you that this guy has now started e-mailing me as well. So, he sounds a lot more serious than I thought. If nothing else, it makes my creative juices flow, just to even think about the project and brainstorm within myself, whether it happens or not.

    @ SJ :
    Thanks ! Sure sure…..except that there is yet to be an Americal tele-srial called “Colud Nine” 😉

    @ OI :
    Yes, I do read Kannada magazines and have access to a lot of them. Do you know the name of the magazine ? Is it online ? If so, I can try to dig up. If it’s not online, I am sure RK, Srik or Veena can help.

    @ RK :
    ROFL…..this is too much. I so remember ‘kELugara kOrike – nimma mechchina chitrageethegaLu’ now. I rememebr sitting inside the announcer’s studios sometimes when the program was going live. I was strictly asked to shut my mouth and not talk when the announcements went out. I wonder what would have happened if I had started singing 🙂 And, perennially my mother made sure that my friends’ and my name came on the list for one of the more popular songs.

    @ Veena :
    Thank you very much ! No royalty required 🙂 But, again, don’t celebrate too soon 🙂 Oh, and don’t give out too many clues as to who I am 😉

    @ Prashanth :
    Thanks man !!! guruvE, I will make sure RK changes the list to suit your needs. Remember, I would be TN Seetharam in the making 😉

    @ Mouna :
    I agree. It’s not all that funny, but it’s not all that easy either. I mean the concept is fine, but the fact remains that such projects have a very low probability of kicking off. I am just being realistic. But then, I am no pessimist…far from it actually, so yes you may have a good friend who writes kathe-saMbhAShaNe, and also who loves Parle ‘hide and seek’ biscuits 🙂

  8. prashanth Says:

    TN Seetharam in the making!! – cool.. aa time bandaaga ondu cameraman athva still fotographer chance kodsappa nange.. 😀

  9. Shiv Says:

    Dec Stud,
    yenri teleserialghe script-dialogues !
    Advanced Congrats!

  10. Srik Says:

    Prashant u deserve that 🙂

    And DS, no matter what. You have to get on to the cloud 9 too quickly and give us a much needed break from the siblings of Muktha ;).

    And about the songs in Kannada movies, less said is better. The recent songs… barring a handful, are noise, including the lyrics. Hope u will out smart all of them :).
    Great going. All the best.

  11. mouna Says:

    yes ds, those biscuits, naanu mareyolla! woul u like some beverage to accompany your poetic ways as well? 🙂

    @ veena, pls use a bigger font size, let us all know more about ds.

  12. decemberstud Says:

    @ Prashanth :
    Sure sure…as you can see, I am very humble 🙂

    @ Shiv :
    ayyO tuMba advanced AgOytu guruve…innoMdu swalpa dina hOgli….

    @ Srik :
    I know, if not for any other reasons, at least to get rid of the ‘Mukta’ sisters, I need to mantle the boat 🙂

    @ Mouna :
    Do you have any suggestions ? 😉


  13. DS already in cloud Ten…! Lets see if we really can give some TRP for that.. 🙂

    Mouna, bigger font.. hmm.. Need to check the options in Baraha IME

  14. decemberstud Says:

    LOL Veena…we’ll see. And, you should be able to just copy and apste it in Word and increase the font. That’s more straightforward. If you want to do it in ‘Baraha’, use the tag where xx is the font size.


  15. I don’t use baraha editor, I just switch the IME ON & type in here.
    CUT PASTE on word is another option, but C/P maadidre matte neevu plagarism/piracy andre en maadodu 🙂
    So have you started writing the serial sambhaashaNe? monne Girish hampaaLi avara radio show nalli nanna hesru bantu.. keLugara korike nalli barlilla andre parvaagilla.. ello bantalla saaku bidi.! 🙂

  16. Vijay Says:

    DS: That is fantastic !!! So how will we know you when you become famous?

    Seriously.. I think its so cool !!! Look forward to it

  17. mouna Says:

    first things first, i need more than one oppurtunity/oppurtunities, 😉 modallane guess tappaythu andre! coffee na?


Leave a Reply

