The Good, The Bad And The Human

“Human being is born bad. He develops good qualities”.

“Human being is born good. He develops bad qualities”.

Which one do you believe in ? I strongly think that the latter is true but my mother completely disagrees with me. We always attach innocence and goodness to children. So, I don’t understand how humans can be born bad. I am convinced that we are all born very good. We pick up the bad qualities.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

15 Comments on “The Good, The Bad And The Human”

  1. emalyse Says:

    Challenging though it is, i’ve subscribed to the belief that people are born good and then add on that they all do the best they can within the circumstances they find themselves in. There are no bad people, just bad decisions (and believe me I can often find myself severely challenged on sticking with that belief).

  2. neelanjana Says:

    There is no doubt that human beings are born good 🙂 Haven’t you heard the story of 2 parrots ? (a.k.a dAri tappida maga LOL 🙂

    Reminds me of something my calculus teacher used to say — everything you are is a finite integral from time 0 to present. So a good can sum out to be bad because of extraneous factors.

  3. JM Says:

    True, people are born good. Later develop bad habits, fall into bad circumstances, make bad choices and take bad decisions. Is it the combination of all or some or one? Is there a set rule about why ppl become/behave BAD? There is no one answer. Their badness may be beneficial to some (remember Robin Hood on one hand and Veerappan on the other). So the discussion goes on… what is goodness and what is bad? Is one country doing any good to the ppl of the other one by “trying to instigate democracy”? Who is right? What is the total effect? What is the outcome?

    I do believe that a person is what his soul is, which none of us can see, only experience. Experiences make us richer, wiser, `healthier’ in the soul level. So, we need to come across certain type of ppl in life, at least we get examples of how we should NOT be. Do you agree with this?

  4. Vittal Says:

    Human being is born and he develops both good and bad qualities.

  5. rk Says:

    All people are born good?

    i think it would be more prudent to think that “ALL PEOPLE ARE BORN NEUTRAL”. because of the mere fact that when someone is born, he neither does something good, nor does something evil..
    it is in the formative years that we can judge what the outcome is.. whether he veered to goodness or evil. motives are pre-requisite of doing good or evil..
    new born babies that are born do not have any motives whatsoever… they merely exist to survive.

  6. Veena Says:

    Vittal already answered my version 🙂 Why do you really get such questions at this age BTW ?

  7. mouna Says:

    the second one, obviously. father and me were discussing about a similar subject, and we(rather me) blamed the extent of evolution that we’ve undergone.


  8. mouna,
    cant totally say one is “Born good”!! Ask the genes and DNAs….

    People are born with many qualities, they take time to show up and the environment supports them do it as one grows up.

    Thats it…my 2 paise!!

  9. Veena Says:

    Wow! Srik.. Thats called out of the box thinking

  10. Prashanth M Says:

    How do you differentiate between good and bad – its relative.

    Lets take example of devas and raakshasas – whatever devas do is good according to them and bad bad acccording to raakshas. And vice verse.

    Ok, ok. I’ll shut up – I know this is a vithandavaada… 😐

  11. decemberstud Says:

    @ emalyse :
    Yes, I agree humans are born good. I do not believe in your opinion that there are no b ad people. People who try to do bad things intentionally are certainly bad people. You cann call that a bad decision.

    @ neelanjana :
    I agree with your calculus teacher. On that note he/she should ahve taught philosophy, really.

    @ JM :
    Yes, I agree with you, but that is on a different plane altogether. If I just look at human life, simple birth to death period, it is quite easy to classify good and bad in most cases. Certainly there are exceptions. And, I do agree that the emasure of badness or goodness is quite subjective.

    @ Vittal :
    I so want to agree with what you say, but I prefer to err on the side of goodness.

    @ RK :
    Again, same as my response to Vittal. It probably makes sense. But, we cannot to the onus on the environment and the formative years completely. I certainly think that there is a certain degree of innate quality which needs to be measured.

    @ Veena :
    LOL….believe me, I got this question several years back, not now. Yeah yeah, you can imagine my questions when I become an old man 🙂

    @ Mouna :
    Ahhh…you are younger than me and even you have discussions on such topics. Abba, I am not an exception…..:)

    @ Srik :
    That was short, but a very interesting angle.

    @ Prashanth :
    As I said earlier, I agree that it is q

  12. decemberstud Says:

    @ emalyse :
    Yes, I agree humans are born good. I do not believe in your opinion that there are no b ad people. People who try to do bad things intentionally are certainly bad people. You cann call that a bad decision.

    @ neelanjana :
    I agree with your calculus teacher. On that note he/she should ahve taught philosophy, really.

    @ JM :
    Yes, I agree with you, but that is on a different plane altogether. If I just look at human life, simple birth to death period, it is quite easy to classify good and bad in most cases. Certainly there are exceptions. And, I do agree that the emasure of badness or goodness is quite subjective.

    @ Vittal :
    I so want to agree with what you say, but I prefer to err on the side of goodness.

    @ RK :
    Again, same as my response to Vittal. It probably makes sense. But, we cannot to the onus on the environment and the formative years completely. I certainly think that there is a certain degree of innate quality which needs to be measured.

    @ Veena :
    LOL….believe me, I got this question several years back, not now. Yeah yeah, you can imagine my questions when I become an old man 🙂

    @ Mouna :
    Ahhh…you are younger than me and even you have discussions on such topics. Abba, I am not an exception…..:)

    @ Srik :
    That was short, but a very interesting angle.

    @ Prashanth :
    As I said earlier, I agree that it is quite subjective on a few occasions. But, there will also be certain incidents wherein you can gauge whetehr a person is good or bad. The average is what we should be interested in.

  13. Veena Says:

    old man DS! & your grand child blogging like taaTa 104 🙂
    GOD Bless you ..
    I want to see whether you will still remain as ‘Angry young man’ types!

  14. decemberstud Says:

    @ Veena :
    LOL, my tAta is still a very “Angry Young Man”, that much I can say. So, you can imagine what i would be like, if, that is 🙂

  15. Boy George Says:

    Oh wait. Yes, I have. I’m sorry, but I just don’t have it in me right now to type it all out again. Besides, it was just ramblings anyway. You didn’t want to hear me go on and on about this, right?


Leave a Reply

