tAta is 104 today!!!

tAta is 104 today !!! I am sitting here and humming the, oh so monotonous “kariyaA I love you, karunADa tAyANe”, trying to figure him out. He has lived a very healthy, successful and a serene life. His strength, belief and love of life is unparalleled. What did I learn from him ? What makes him so close to my heart ?

He would take me to the school interview, to the barber shop, to all his friends’ houses – always wearing the crystal white jubba and kachchE paMche. What would Versace have said if he met tAta? Would he have laughed out loud, or would he have been inspired to create another expensive outfit ?

His clear British English is as musical to your ears as his rendition of B.M.Shri‘s ‘Ashwatthaman’. He is so fond of music, drama and literature. Why didn’t he ever write ? Other than the long letters, of course. Sure, his hand writing is very hard to decipher. Is that a good enough reason ? I bet he would have been an excellent blogger, as well.

It has been 37 years since ajji died, way before I was born. tAta has lived with his children all along. Does he miss her ? If so, how much ? I have always wondered. I cannot recall tata ever talking about ajji. I am sure he would have had dreams of spending the old age with her. If I am such a hopeless romantic, then I am sure one of those genes were from tAta.

His love for cricket and politics is unbeatable. The shine in his eyes when he sees India win or BJP coming to power is a reflection of my own eyes. No, I don’t look like him, I don’t talk like him, and I definitely don’t like coffee like he does – He likes it “bitter like poison, hot like hell and thick like paste”. We are so different, yet so similar.

Stepping into his 105th year, tAta has been a brilliant source of enthusiasm for people around him. I wish him a very Happy Birthday!!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Home

11 Comments on “tAta is 104 today!!!”

  1. Vijay Says:

    104 is a lot of blogging material. A visual treasure trove. My best wishes to him.

  2. Prakash Says:

    Nanna Churumuri post nodi .
    I already said December Stud is Bapu’s relative .
    wish him another century .

  3. mouna Says:

    my heartful regards to him…

    i think i know your name, eitherways it shouldn’t make it a difference, we still remain anon to each other 🙂

  4. shiv Says:

    DS,
    Happy b’day to grandpa..

    Visualising him as blogger..then probably we all would have ended up being literally ‘bachhas’ in front of him 🙂

  5. Veena Says:

    This blog post is a feast after a looooooooong time. Happy birthday to your taata, 104 years!!
    The line which spoke about the gene & being romantic… LOL!! paapa Mrs DS 🙂

  6. JM Says:

    Very Happy birthday to your tAta and also Very Happy Yugaadi to all of you. I wish the New Year will bring joy, solace and peace to everyone of you.

  7. rk Says:

    mutth(inantha)thatha,
    namaskara. huttu habbada haardhika shubhashayagalu.
    vandanegalu.

  8. Arun Says:

    Great going. Best Wishes.

  9. Prashanth M Says:

    104!! :O

    taatanige huTTU hababda ShubhAshayagaLu…

  10. decemberstud Says:

    @ Vijay :
    It truly is, thanks.

    @ Prakas :
    nimma churumuri post nODide. But, my grand father has a lot of grand children, so how about that ? 😉

    @ Mouna :
    Thanks. Yeah, it doesn’t make any difference, if you remain ‘mouna’ that is 🙂

    @ Shiv :
    Thanks and yes, you bet we would all be bachchas. Some of his writings are unbelievable.

    @ Veena :
    LOL…thanks !!!

    @ JM :
    Thanks and a happy Ugadi to you and your family as well.

    @ RK,
    Pearly wishes, huh ? 😉 Thanks

    @ Arun :
    Thank you sir.

    @ Prashanth :
    dhanyavAdagaLu.


  11. […] more death in the family. 2007 has not turned out to be anywhere close to being an average year. tAta just passed away. He was 105. My mother, both my uncles and an aunt were at my house in Mysooru when […]


Leave a Reply

