Karma Theory And All That Stuff

A lot of things happening around me made me wonder if “Good things happen to good people and bad things happen to bad people” is really true. My thought process included stuff like “What’s the point in being good?” and “Should I really believe in janma theory?” among many other things.

Finally I decided to send an email to a very good friend, whose opinions I value a lot. Incidentally, he is an excellent blogger as well, and I am sure some of you have visited and appreciated his blog.

This friend of mine pretty much said the same things I knew. Karma theory, re-birth and all that stuff. But what was different was the way in which he put it. His email made me think more and made me think in a more balanced way. The fact that he was absolutely not interested in convincing me to believe in what he believes, made me want to believe in what he said.

Make no mistake, I absolutely believe in God. I always lean on God when I am scared or when I need comfort. But, I still cannot understand the concept of sowing in one birth and reaping the good or bad in another birth. It is just not fair. Life should be like an exam. You write the exam and get the results within a few months. Similarly, you should benefit or suffer because of all the good and bad things you do, in the same birth.

I don’t believe in posthomous awards, so why should I believe in Karma theory ? Well, that’s a little tricky, because I do.

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

11 Comments on “Karma Theory And All That Stuff”

  1. bachodi Says:

    May be its like “If you don’t do good things, there won’t be a good-bad balance in this world, so someone will balance it “. If all people are winners then who are losers?

    This reminded me philosophy of movie trilogy Matrix. Neo is gaining his power to balance an agent too.

  2. JM Says:

    Hi DS, This “karma theory” is tricky, I know. I was NOT believing in this untill recently, was arguing with parents against it, calling it a “palaayana vaada”. All those half-baked thoughts crashed down on me when in crisis and karma theory gave me some kind of solace. On the other hand, a person who was ardent believer of God and His ways, now has become a non-believer, questioning God. This is the trauma-effect.

    Our philosophy has answers to almost all our questions, sometimes we are not ready to understand, OR just not able to understand. Sorry, I’m not trying to give you surmon, only my understanding and observation.

    Take care of yourself, young man. I know you will. There are people who look up to you.

  3. pArijAta Says:

    DS,
    I have asked myself this very question umpteen times, and though the karma theory does not appeal to one’s head easily, it certainly gives solace to the heart. How else can you explain a 6-year old child’s right-side of the body being paralysed for the rest of his life?( Incidentally, that was my taata. He was one of the gentlest, most devout and best human beings I have known. But I shudder when I think of the illnesses that he went through.)

    Sometimes it feels as though there is no justice in this world, but I believe that it is all part of one grand scheme of things. As shrI ramaNa says ‘ಕರ್ತುರಾಜ್ಞಯಾ ಪ್ರಾಪ್ಯತೇ ಫಲಂ’. We are just players in this grand drama.

    Wow, thinking about all this makes me feel so puny and insignificant!


  4. Gr8 post and a good doubt!!

  5. some body Says:

    i was wondering where i had read the following (then realized it was here and that you wrote it!):

    “Human being is born bad. He develops good qualities”.
    vs.
    “Human being is born good. He develops bad qualities”.

    my wife and i were having an, ummm, discussion a few days ago, about how kids are influenced. i was saying that my parents did such and such and look how i turned out (in some context). she replied saying that that would have worked only because that dude was me and it would not have not have worked for someone else. putting that and the above discussion in context, this is what i can say maybe…

    human being is born good or bad, and develops good or bad qualities based on the environment (at home and outside home). in other words, if you have a controlled environment, that still does not mean that two kids will develop exactly equal. are identical twins identical in actions? i don’t think so.

    so obviously there is some residual goodness or badness (who knows where from) that exists when the kid is born. how the environment reacts with this residual behaviour probably influences what the kid will ultimately become. an environmental variable (say lots of love) that works wonders on one could potentially not be that good on the other. one might return that love, the other might become a spoilt brat! what can you blame (or praise) for this difference in behaviour other than residual x (goodness or badness)?

    also – and this is a personal opinion – living as a majority probably make the kid more open to the philosophy of the majority than living as a minority. am i being clear in this thought? maybe not!

    a related thought: is a crime committed without knowing that it was a crime worse or the same as a knowingly committed crime? let’s say there are two kids – one is constantly taught that killing animals is a sin, whereas the other one is not taught this. if each of them kills a deer, is the one who knows that he is not supposed to do so more sinful than the one who does not know? or are they equally sinful?

    – s.b.

  6. shiv Says:

    >>I don’t believe in posthomous awards
    ಇಲ್ಲೇ ಸ್ಪರ್ಗ ಇಲ್ಲೇ ನರಕ ಮೇಲೆನಿಲ್ಲ ಸುಳ್ಳು..
    ಹುಟ್ಟು ಸಾವು ಎರಡರ ನಡುವೆ ಮೂರು ದಿನದ ಬಾಳು

  7. Veena Says:

    ಇಲ್ಲೇ ಸ್ಪರ್ಗ ಇಲ್ಲೇ ನರಕ ಮೇಲೆನಿಲ್ಲ ಸುಳ್ಳು..
    ಹುಟ್ಟು ಸಾವು ಎರಡರ ನಡುವೆ ಮೂರು ದಿನದ ಬಾಳು

    super response, I second this thought…

  8. decemberstud Says:

    @ Bachodi:
    If what you say is true, then it’s grossly unfair. “Matrix’, huh ? Well, if all of us ere Oracle 🙂 Naah, the concept is fine, but not great.

    @ JM:
    Thanks!!! Yes, I do believe in ‘Karma Theory’. It absolutely is the only option for us to rely on. As you say, if not anything, it at least gives solace and comfort. I can’t comment on your beliefs as far as God is concerned. But, if you believe in ‘Karma Theory’ it’s easier to believe in God. My opinion.

    @ pArijAta:
    We are truly puny and insignificant. Yes, I completely agree with you that it gives some ‘answer’ to the unknown. Sorry to hear about your grand father. And, I have heard equally bad things happen to so many nice people. Well, I guess ‘Karma’ plays it’s role.

    @ Srik:
    Thanks!!!

    @ SB:
    Ummm….sure environment plays a HUGE role. And, if I take your example of the good kid vs spoilt brat, I guess I can attribute that to ‘Karma’ again, can’t I ? If certain things are bound to happen, then they are bound to happen, come what may. I know Nostradamus would hate that I said that!!!

    As for the kid living as a majority being more open to the philosphy of the majority, if I understand it correctly, I am not too sure that is true. I have seen examples of even the minority thinking thriving quite well.

    As to whetehr crime is relative ? No, it’s not. It absolutely is absolute. If it is relative, then there is no such thing as law and the world’s judicial system is completely flawed. I will say that definiton of crime is absolute, but again it goes along with the definition of the majority of the people. As always, every rule has an exception!!!

    @ Shiv:
    Nice song, I know 😉 But, sometimes when you see bad things happening to good people, it just easier to believe in ‘Karma Theory’. If not for anything else, just to have some epace of mind, for yourself.

    @ Veena:
    Same response as above 🙂


  9. I am not quite sure if I believe in the Karma theory; at least in the accepted definition. I believe the rights or wrongs do come to bite you in the ass, and not just in a different life. I think it happens in the same life, well, usually. I probably don’t believe in it coz I don’t accept the rebirth theory too much. That doesn’t mean I have a problem with anyone who does… hopefully it doesn’t get construed such.

    If you take shortcuts and undercut people, eventually you end up paying for it. I’ve experienced it and I’ve seen people experience it too. There are however other people who I’ve seen employ dirty tactics and end up on the highest rung on the ladder of success.

    I’m contradicting myself….now…anyways… more than 2 cents from me for what it is worth, if anything.

  10. astroshiva Says:

    You said ‘I don’t believe in posthomous awards, so why should I believe in Karma theory ?’ Very intelligent way of puuting the thing. I liked it. Even I feel sometimes like that. Karma is a broader concept for me to say something, but the other half of the sentence surely gets a comment from me.
    The question is ‘Is Death the end of everything?’ If yes. then, why do we need to read a dead poet or a writer? The things he believed should go to grave along with him and his books become immaterial. But we do read them. When we read and appreciate them, why should not we appreciate the writer (may be in the form of post humous award?) Only because that writer is not our contemporory person Or we dont belong to his time, would that stop us giving him the respect he deserve?

  11. decemberstud Says:

    @ OI:
    Yep, you did contradict yourself quite well there 🙂

    @ Astroshiva:
    Death is certainly not the end of everything, at least for the rest who are still living. It makes perfect sense to enjoy the creations of a dead man. You are appreciating the writer by the fact that you still are reading his/her books. You do not have to give an award to a person who cannot accpet it. There will be many more good writers who are still alive and who are old. Give the awards to them before it is too late. At least, they will enjoy it. Who know what lies after death, so recongnize them when they are alive.


Leave a Reply

