Dravid & Co., Salut And Goodbye!!!

It’s the 29th over of the Indian innings and the scorecard reads 112/6. And the most talented of all, Ajit Agarkar is coming in to bat. Do you see any problem here? Perhaps not, if you are a die hard fan like me, you still hope that India is going to win, somhow magically!!!

The problem is right there. Fans like me….and a billion of us. We have no better thing to do. Spineless cowards like us believe that Indian team is always the best. We are made to believe that the World Cup is designed and created for us and we whole heartedly buy that story.

What’s up with the sleepless nights? And, how about a billion dreams? Dravid and boys have mercilessly killed them all. “Men in Blue” are fit for flashy advertisements and fat contracts, again courtesy, fools like me.

You know what, I am fed up. For the Nth time, I have decided not to watch cricket anymore. And, this time I am quite serious. I should also stop buying all products which Tendulkar and friends endorse. That’s the only way these idiots will realize their place.

Dravid, Ganguly, Yuvraj, Dhoni, Zaheer, Munaf and the three players who never got a chance to show their “talent” should be retained in the team. The rest should be thrown out tomorrow. I know Sehwag played well, but he lacks consistency. And, we need a coach, not a politicain, just a coach. We also should realize that great players will never make good coaches (that’s my wife’s take and I believe that). Let’s do what South Africa did 4 years ago. Revamp the team and bring in new faces. How about Kaif for the captian? Well, I am just rambling here. That doesn’t mean I will soften my stand and watch cricket again. No no….

More than ever, now I am convinced that Karma Theory makes sense. Billion plus people must have done horrible things in our previous births. Why else are we put through this?

Explore posts in the same categories: Cricket

10 Comments on “Dravid & Co., Salut And Goodbye!!!”


  1. Very true…
    Karma of 1 billion people sitting on the head of one captain!!

    We had a foolish captain ever who just did what Sir Chappe(a)l asked him to…

    Its a total disgust on the whole country.

    Finally, DS, your forecast went wrong!!!

    Forget about semis, we didnt even beat Bangladesh!!!

  2. mouna Says:

    lols, i simply can’t stop laughing, don’t get me wrong. but i somehow don’t think about cricket.( i had an amazing time when i saw comments being flased on cnn-ibn)

    cricket is something that i put miles away from myself, i will rather read ruskin bond for the 100th time than view cricket for a few minutes. and about endorsing their products, if we are speaking about flavoured sodas, it’s not on my list either, heaven knows when i sipped them last!!

  3. shiv Says:

    DS,

    I can understand what you are going through because once upon a time I was a heart-broken-by-India’s-cricket-karma. Somehow I pulled myself out of the Cricket moha and I lived happily everafter 🙂
    (Ok..enough of my bragging)

    Its such a pity that the so-called potential world cup winners has to depend upon the results of a match between two teams.
    (team times in which sum of all the runs scored by all the 22 players + extra players
    is not equal to runs scored by great ‘little genius’abhinava’ Bradman )

    As long as Cricket is not seen as a sport and when it is associated with all other things, this will happen. And who were responsible for the fat endorsements of the demi-god-like-players? Its the madness & worshipping of the cricket bhaktaru..

    ಮೋಹದ ಹೆಂಡತಿ ತೀರಿದ ಬಳಿಕ ಮಾವನ ಮನೆಯ ಹಂಗು ಇನ್ನೇಕೋ stylenalli
    ಮೋಹದ ವರ್ಲ್ಡ್ ಕಪ್‍ನಲ್ಲಿ ಸೋತ ಬಳಿಕ ಕ್ರಿಕೆಟ್‍ನ ಹಂಗಿನ್ನೇಕೋ 🙂

  4. Vittal Says:

    DS, DS, DS…..please don’t be so harsh on us(fans) ! 🙂 I am already depressed and I don’t know how long it will take to recover from this! By the way, I am on Prozac to avoid any thoughts of committing suicide!

  5. pArijAta Says:

    True. We should stop buying products that are endorsed by these guys.

    mouna – how about engine oil? and bikes? I see cricketers endorsing every damned thing under the sun! We are the ones to blame. Dhoni played well in a couple of matches, and we praised him to no end. He took to getting out at zero. I think we, the ‘abhimAni dEvategaLu’ spoil the players.

    Ah, well, let that pass.

    For all Wodehouse and cricket fans – on http://www.archive.org, ‘Mike and Psmith’ is available for download.

    For all those who are not fans of cricket – lucky you!

  6. Prashanth M Says:

    elli nodidroo eega Indian cricket team de suddi – newspapers, TV media, blogworld, bus stand, in BTS bus…… oh God! give me a break…

  7. decemberstud Says:

    @ Srik:
    I know my prediction was nowhere close. As for Dravid listening to Chappel, from today’s headlines, it doesn’t look like that was the case.

    @ Mouna:
    It goes on to prove that you were not a sinner in your previous birth…..

    @ Shiv:
    Very true Sharief sAhEbre…..I have probably made up my mind at least a million times to stop following cricket. Well, certain people are just plainly irreparable.

    @ Vittal:
    Do you have any more prescription left?

    @ pArijAta:
    We can stop buying the products. But, what about thousands of ‘Sachin’ ‘s cropping up in all the classrooms across the country?

    @ Prashanth:
    guarantee nInU ‘Mouna’ thara hOda janmadalli puNya mADidde ansatte guru….

  8. mouna Says:

    what is it? is it that we are sin-free(from the last birth), and thus have no qualms attched with cricket? connections yellinda yelligo hogtide ? bemused(very).. 😀


  9. As I said in other blogs and read somewhere .The game cricket is slowly losing its sheen .Known for its skill whether bowling ,batting or fielding .In years to come it will transform into a power game .Also the charm for test cricket will reduce and twenty twenty will take over .
    Kerry Packer One day series killed test cricket and now Twenty twenty will kill one day cricket . It will be more of a power game with lot of stamina and super human effort in display .You will no longer enjoy a Azharuddin/Laxman rolling their wrists or a GR playing a nice cut or a gavaskar playing a very late cut or a tendulkar caressing a clean straight drive .
    The future game will be 4s and sixes like the one hayden hits and more slingers will emerge ( Like Malinga) . There will be sliders and flying fielders like Jonty rhodes .
    India will slowly fade away from this sport like Hockey in years to come . The new game of cricket would be dominated by meat eaters and bone crackers .


  10. Welcome to the club DS…

    I stopped watching when everything about Azhar and Jadeja came out and specially when everything about Cronje came out. Cronje. along with Steve Waugh was one person who I believed could never do such a thing. If the lure was so good (or bad) to pull a person like Cronje into the net… I could not trust anyone else specially from India (because of nothing else but the fact the most of them come from pretty modest backgrounds and the whole betting scene is controlled from India and maybe UAE) not falling for the same thing.

    Sleepless nights, countless prayers, innocent bets and the respect was lost suddenly and I felt cheated. Cheated by these players. I felt they cheated the nation with the match fixing …and I became completely disenchanted with Cricket after that. Still follow it fleetingly but thats about it.

    Get out man… it is not worth it. And yea…maybe I’ll do the same thing too. Stop buying the brands that these idiots endorse. Doesn’t mean anything in the larger scheme of things but what the hell…gives me some sort of satisfaction…right?


Leave a Reply

