Winners In Life

A famous violinist – my violin guru and a great family friend in India – was performing at a friend’s place. Several people were invited to the concert. People walked in as pure music filled the air.

A few hours passed by and I heard a sudden hard knock on the door. Since I was sitting very close to the front door, I got up and opened the door. An Americanย lady in her 50’s was standing there, all confused and tensed. She pointed to a car parked around 100 feet from me and asked if I owned that car. It was not mine. Seeing the conversation, a friend of mine joined me. And yo, that particular car happened to be his.

Now the lady started apologizing profusely. She said that she was backing her car up and accidentally hit my friend’s car. She gave him her name, phone number, and all the insurance details.

I was surprised that she knocked on my friend’s door when there are several more homes in the locality. She told me that she went and knocked on many other doors before coming to my friend’s house. She desperately wanted to find out who the owner of the car was. She said she just couldn’t live by hitting a car and going away, without apologizing to the car owner.

That lady chose the path of righteousness. She wanted to make sure that the car owner was properly compensated for the mistake. She took time to go from door to door in search of the car owner. That is integrity and the trait of a true human being.

I was so happy to talk to her and I mentioned that I would blog the story. She was thrilled!!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Life

17 Comments on “Winners In Life”

  1. Aram Says:

    Very inspiring.

    A truly civilized lady and a truly civilized blogger who feels compelled to share this with the world.

  2. Vijay Says:

    DS…Good story.. any idea why it doesn’t happen here in India? I have some thoughts but would love to hear yours….


  3. Ayyo Siva ..your friend is lucky .

    Some truck guy recently bumped my Avalon ( a new one …which is like a BABY to me) and did not even leave a Note .

  4. Prashanth M Says:

    Hats off to that lady.. and do send the link to her ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Aram Says:

    @Vijay:

    It happens in India too, but very rarely.

    As we mostly see the other kind of uncivilized behavior, we conclude all Indians behave in the “Indian” way.


  6. Implementing Gandhigiri to win hearts!! Good story.

  7. decemberstud Says:

    @ Aram:
    I am truly happy reading your comment. I certainly felt compelled to tell the story, but she is the real hero.

    @ Vijay:
    I don’t agree that it does not happen in India. I do agree with Aram that it may not be as common though. Also, look at DG’s comments. You will see that even ehre there are people who are just not as good.

    Again, I come back to my favorite topic of environment and the social consciousness being the primary reasons for such behavior. You are in India. Would you not have done what this lady did? I have a feeling that you would have, at least to a certain degree. That is because you care about this society. And, that stems from education. Well, I can go on and on. but, the basic point is that it is more common here than in India just because people ahve been taught to be that way here.

    @ DG:
    Sorry to hear that. Yes, the world is full of all kinds of people.

    @ Prashanth:
    I don’t know her mail ID. but, I did tell her that I was going to blog the story and she was happy. I guess that was enough to make her day ๐Ÿ™‚

    @ Srik:
    Thanks. yes, we learn everyday.

  8. Mysorean Says:

    Liked this one a lot! My bow to that lady! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. decemberstud Says:

    @ Mysorean:
    Thanks, yes I liked her attitude a ton. There are so many good examples in everyday life.

  10. pArijAta Says:

    Really, really loved this post! And the title is beautiful! It’s my screensaver now ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Veena Says:

    First I thought this happened in India (because of the Indian Violinist may be ?)…
    Honestly, I don’t think I would go knock somebody’s door to find out the car owner but definitely leave a note on the car with my contacts.

    Recently, when I was taking out my car from our office parking lot, I happen to touch another car which actually made a small scar(or may be my car paint went on the other car)… I went and wrote a note for him on the register which our security guy maintains.
    When I returned the next day, my security guard smiled at me & said.. The other fellow thanked me to letting him know about it & it was okay with him and not a cause for worry… I am not sure whether it was an instance to be categorised as Gandhigiri… may be in India, atleast such incidents will surely win the heart since people try to behave the other way….

  12. decemberstud Says:

    @ pArijAta:
    Glad you liked it. We learn everyday.

    @ Veena:
    What you did was wonderful. I think that is good enough. The point is not to go door to door, but to somehow make sure that the car owner knows about the incident. You are equally great ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. bachodi Says:

    Its so nice of her.
    One thing i am confused with is , it was happened in India or US ? Just confirmation .. cause in India apologizing for mistakes is not considered to be part of Indian culture.

  14. Veena Says:

    Enri Bach idu.. namma indian culture ge heeg masi baLiyoda.. astondenu hadageTTilla bidi illa…atleast namma raajyadaLathege anthu astond keTTilla bidi ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. decemberstud Says:

    @ Bachodi:
    It happened in US. Well, I am sure it happens in India to, maybe not so frequently.

    @ Veena:
    I agree ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Priya Says:

    Hats off to the lady…In Bangalore, twice my sis met with an accident, but while some were helping her to stand on her feet, some others stole once her mobile and the other time her watch… when one is in dire need of family members and does not have the strength to go to a public phone, mobile is a real help, imagine if that gets stolen at the accident site!!!


  17. @ Priya:
    Thanks for dropping by and commenting. I have heard of several instances where people ahve lost their mobiles, sun glasses, watches etc. after the accident in India. It is quite sad. But, even though you may see more such cases in India, I am not sure it is not a universal problem. I think it stems from lack of education.


Leave a Reply

