Boy Talk

Over the weekend, my wife and I went to a friend’s house for dinner. My friend and I started talking about home and work while my wife was busy helping his wife in the kitchen. After some time, two more couples joined us. Magically, all the guys huddled in the backyard while the wives were busy in the kitchen.

We started talking about home loans, backyard, green card, home theatre systems, polk audio, television, you name it. Time flies and slowly my wife walked towards us and joined the conversation. Infact, she started off a new conversation around iPhone unlocking. We then moved onto several other interesting topics including cricket, state budget and interest rates.

We finished our dinner and left early. On our way back, my wife told me that she was really bored talking with the girls and that they were busy discussing the jewellery, hair style, cooking, dresses and more jewellery. She said she knew that we would be discussing something more interesting and thus joined us. I teased her saying that she was a show off and she knows that she is the most beautiful among all her friends and thus didn’t want to mix with them a lot. She vehemently denied that, and went on a philosophical note on how beauty is God given. But, she did acknowledge that it is nice to be beautiful. As to why she joined the boys, we will never know the truth πŸ™‚

Explore posts in the same categories: Home, Raindrops

19 Comments on “Boy Talk”

  1. Aram Says:

    You have the knack of picking a simple dinner party and converting it into an interesting narrative and then go on to make a puzzle out of it (“As to why she joined the boys, we will never know the truth”).

    I thought the items of boy talk listed were as mundane as those of the ladies’ chatter.

    Your better half, as revealed by you elsewhere, is a professional; were the other ladies only housewives? Might that explain why she joined the boy talk?


  2. She might just be teasing you by saying you would be discussing interesting things πŸ˜‰

  3. mouna Says:

    me too. when we go out with family friends, one can be well assured to find me with my father and his friends, than with my mum and the ladies. half the time i’ll be loitering around, hearing snatches now and then.

  4. Celine Says:

    Hello here,

    “As to why she joined the boys, we will never know the truth..”
    The truth has been conveyed to you, i.e., that “she was really bored talking with the girls”, but you seem to be not satisfied with that explanation. I am sure I don’t have to advice you to stop wondering and to allow her do what she wishes. πŸ˜›
    IMHO the personality and upbringing of a person plays a large role in determining what topic of discussion interests that person. I’d have also been bored fairly quickly if the topics for discussion at the girlie group were limited to “jewellery, hair style, cooking, dresses and more jewellery”..argh! I’d definitely move out quickly to find out if anything more interesting was being discussed somewhere else.

    I hope I don’t sound like I’m reprimanding you here, because that is certainly not the intention. I voiced out whatever I felt because I am not in favor of sexism or gender segregation.

    I checked out some of your other postings here as well. You have a good mix of interesting posts here. Keep writing πŸ™‚

  5. Pavan Says:

    you could take it this way: “I could do this, could you?” which translates to a challenge: “next time, try connecting to the ladies with our kitchen-cosmetic talk as smoothly as I did with my iphone hacking talk, wanna bet?” πŸ™‚ or probably it was a subtle warning to help them out in cooking next time πŸ˜‰

    PS: the mystery, as I see, isnt as to why she joined the boys, but how she could do the ‘boy talk’ so well (might be Arman’s reasoning..), it is getting rare

  6. rads Says:

    omg, thats me! I mean the part where she dumps the females to run to the guy talk!

    as far as the prettiness and the why – that will always be the elusive mystery! πŸ˜‰


  7. But why is talking about jewellary other stuff condemend here ? That can be well discussed for sometime as you guys do about gadgets etc., Not that all housewifes are dumb and just talk about only those stuff which is mentioned boring… and we can’t generalise that all professional woman talk about only Hi-Fi things.

    I call one as a better individual if she can manage to speak anything under the universe and still enjoy the conversation without rating it as low or high, thats when mostly the differences get withered off among different generations too… Its the way you can make any conversation intersting πŸ™‚

  8. praneshachar Says:

    even though discussion go around as you indicated but ultimately it is your interest which overtakes others. for ex if you are in a group where everyone is discussing an issue which you are a novice you will be out of place and look for a change. everywhere therewill be exceptions and certianly the ladies of present day are lot different than earlier but still they are ladies.
    dont give any other colour for this good write up and thanks for sharing and you see so many reactions

  9. Pavan Says:

    Just to clear that I *never* meant boy talk isnt a woman’s turf, just that I find it getting rarer (I enjoy geek-talk, esp with a female)..

  10. rads Says:

    veena – speaking for myself – I can only take clothes/jewelry talk for so long. Also the kind of talk matters – discussing on a general level fashion, and creation or style and trends are a lot more fun for me than detailed carats, money, jealousy and competition that usually happens. Hence the exit!

    Now I really didnt have to explain, but am a teeny bit jobless durig lunch break πŸ˜€

  11. Veena Says:

    Rads,

    I do agree with your points and empathise it equally. but ya, point I was trying to put here is to have some tolerance to such talks too.. Generally when I am out for a wedding my MIL asks me all the details regarding what xyz was wearing or did I see some new design etc., which I wouldn’t even look at it but I do have some patience to answer her questions and I don’t call them as boring talks or something like that because many a times, for lot of things I get to learn from her, sometime I go clarify who authored so and so kannada book and she has answer in her tip..and of course for awesome cooking tips.

    One anyway gets identified as girl/woman first and then as professionals/laurette etc., and there is no need to fashion out that one.. I am just trying put my thoughts across in a little straight forward way!

    Hope you had a nice lunch…

  12. krupa Says:

    I had been to a get-together where all the ladies were busy discussing babies,sales…best stain removing detergent and some more baby stuff.
    Men were busy discussing office politics,inflation and salary hikes. I was left wondering what happened to people discussing music,art,movies,books etc in parties!


  13. @ Aram:
    Thanks. But, I disagree that this has anything to do with being a housewife and a professional. It is more due to pure interest in different topics, that’s all.

    @ Srik:
    Now, that’s an interesting take. Wait until you have a wife…let’s talk then πŸ™‚

    @ Mouna:
    No wonder your name starts with an M as well πŸ˜‰

    @ Celine:
    Thank you for stopping by and thanks for the nice comment. You certainlky don’t sound rude and you have put your points very clearly. I definitely agree with what you have there.

    @ Pavan:
    LOL..I certainly won’t grab the dare. Now now, you are giving a new twist to the ‘mystery’. Hmmm…I guess you haven’t met enough girls. there are too many of them who do the ‘Boy Talk’, look at all the comments here πŸ™‚

    @ Rads:
    So, we have tons of you folks now, huh? πŸ˜‰ My wife is very similar. You have hit the bull’s eye with the second comment. Even she loves discussing the fancy clothes and beautiful pearls, but even she walks out when the talks go around 50 dollar haircut and oh so expensive necklaces.

    @ Veena:
    My God…I am laughing out here. You are probably the most predictable of the lot. My wife had guessed EXACTLY what your response would be and you seem to have matched it, almost word to word πŸ™‚

    And no, talking about jewellery is certainly not condemned here. Rads has put it nicely in her second comment. It probably gets annoying to some girls like Rads, Celine and my wife when it goes the wrong direction, that’s all. Trust me, my wife loves to talk about jewellery and clothes as much as she likes talking about Golf and Africa. You will see when you meet her πŸ™‚

    @ Praneshachar:
    I agree, ‘at the end of the day’ it’s really the interests which matter.

    @ Krupa:
    At the risk of sounding hopelessly prejudiced, was that a gulT party? πŸ˜‰ Sorry, had to say that….It was a joke, obviously πŸ™‚

  14. bachodi Says:

    Hmm Bayaluseemeya katte purana πŸ˜‰
    Are you sure your friends and thier wives dont read your blog ?

  15. neela Says:

    I feel upbringing has a say in our interests.
    My interests may vary in their intensity and area compared to those in a group of ladies.
    I am also of the opinion that we can’t bracket these things according to gender..like Celine says.

  16. rads Says:

    At the risk of sounding hopelessly prejudiced, was that a gulT party? Sorry, had to say that….It was a joke, obviously

    ahem! Taking potshots consistently these days aren’t we? :p

  17. BPuriSKabab Says:

    DStud –
    I am in the same situation. It’s nice to be married to a “man’s woman”, isn’t it?

    BPSK

    Btw, was that discussion about the Polk RTi10 or the db series? πŸ˜‰

  18. tarlesubba Says:

    bakeeTalla koDpaana alla idu hanDe.


  19. @ Bachodi:
    Well, I hope they don’t πŸ˜‰

    @ neela:
    Yes, I agree totally.

    @ Rads:
    Ooops, I forgot about you…Naaah, I was hoping for this response from you πŸ˜‰

    @ BPuriSKabab:
    It certainly is great πŸ™‚ db…db650 actually πŸ˜‰

    @ TS:
    Any surprises? πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

