Sound Of Music

It was quite boring to watch Djokovic drub Del Potro and Jankovic overcome Bammer in the US Open. I was changing channels fast and instantly stopped when I heard the ever romantic “I am sixteen, Going on seventeen”.ย We had half an hour before our friends were going to join us. I knew the time was so much more well spent listening to

“Raindrops on roses and Whiskers on kittens, Bright copper kettles and Warm woolen mittens”.

I certainly have a different set of “My favorite things”. But, the song was good enough to suddenly make a gloomy evening, a very bright one.

And lucky me, just before my friends came in (and that’s when I had to switch off the TV), I got to listen (and sing along) Do-Re-Mi. Now, isn’t that a classic?

Do – a deer, a female deer

Re – a drop of golden sun

Mi – a name, I call myself

Fa – a long long way to run

So – a needle pulling thread

La – a note to follow So

Ti – a drink with jam and bread

and that will bring us back to Do!!!

I hope I have the lyrics right (wasn’t too keen to google). If you haven’t listened to the songs of ‘Sound of Music’, you have to. If not, you are missing out on something. So, go grab the CD or the movie. Until then, Que Sara Sara (oh well, some other time!).

Explore posts in the same categories: Movies, Music, Raindrops

16 Comments on “Sound Of Music”

  1. neelanjana Says:

    Funny that I was remembering the I am sixteen song a few days ago…

    Yes, The do re me .. song, My favourite things, and all the other songs that I don’t remember from the Sound of Music are something not to be missed!

    Elu svaravu sEri sangItavAyitu ELu baNNa sEri biLiya baNNavAyitu…

    -neelanjana

  2. Vasuki Says:

    Loved the song “Do Re Mi”…and “Que Sera Sera” is one of my favorites too (I think it was Doris Day who sung in the movie “The Man Who Knew Too Much”)

  3. BPuriSKabab Says:

    What goes around…

    A couple of days ago, one of my comments to Rads in response to one of her posts was to sing to this song.

    Except, the first time I heard it was not in the movie, but as a Gits commercial that used to play in Doordarshan, circa late 70s.

    So at the risk of corrupting forever your memories of Mary Poppins, the Von Trapp brats and World War 2, here goes:

    Dosas and idlis
    And tasty jalebis
    And many more dishes
    Of dreams and of wishes

    Gits Instant Foods
    And the pleasure it brings

    These are a few of my favorite things….

    -BPSK

  4. some body Says:

    bpsk:

    “So at the risk of corrupting forever your memories of Mary Poppins, the Von Trapp brats and World War 2, here goes:”

    sister maria and mary poppins are two different characters, as far as i can know. don’t tell me you’ve already corrupted my memory!

    d.s.:

    your spelling is all way off! ๐Ÿ˜‰ considering that my english music experience is limited to sound of music, my fair lady, and harry belafonte (plus a few bits and pieces here and there), i am pretty confident about what i do know, and i’ve gotta correct your spelling (in the context of the song)!!

    doe (not do)
    ray (not re)
    me (not mi)
    far (not fa)
    sew (not so)
    it is –> ‘la, a note to follow so’
    tea (not ti)
    … and that will bring us back to do …

    “If you havenโ€™t listened to the songs of โ€˜Sound of Musicโ€™, you have to.”

    amen to that. my father used to hum “doe a deer” and just a little bit more, but i never got to watch ‘sound of music’ in india. my first year here, during christmas, i got to watch it on tv (one of the tv channels – or maybe the same one, nbc – invariably telecasts this movie year in and year out) and fell in love with all the characters, including the villains. ๐Ÿ™‚

    – s.b.

  5. BPuriSKabab Says:

    S.B.

    You say Maria
    I say Mary

    Maria-Mary
    Maria-Mary

    Let’s call the whole thing off

    BPSK

  6. some body Says:

    bpsk:

    ok … truce. ๐Ÿ™‚

    – s.b.

  7. pArijAta Says:

    La – a note to follow So
    …..
    That’ll bring us back to Do…

    This is one of little Biyadiya’s favorite songs. He can keep singing it for hours together, non-stop, irritating R to no end!

    BPSK, nice one!

    There’s also this song ‘Chim chimney chim chimney chim chim cheroo’ in Mary Poppins. And quite a few in ‘My Fair Lady’, immensely hummable.

  8. neela Says:

    Ah…that movie..
    those songs…
    made me nostalgic.

  9. Aram Says:

    DS:

    In case this idea did not already occur to you – why not compile all your posts and bring out a print version in a nicely designed colorful book?

    Of course, I am being purely selfish in making this suggestion – devarigarpithavaguva hoomaaleya jotege daarakkoo dorakuva aa bhaagyadanthe, my name will also be there in the comments.

    — Aram


  10. @ neelanjana:
    Yes, ‘Sound of Music’ is certainly one of my all time favorite movies. The songs are superb!!!

    @ Vasuki:
    Yep, even I like those songs a lot. Yes, Doris Day sang ‘Que Sara Sara’ for Hitchcock’s ‘The Man Who Knew Too Much’ (a wonderful movie as well). Apparently, Doris Day was very unhappy to sing the song. She thought it was just another kid song. It turned out to be her greatest hit.

    @ BS:
    Gawd, they guys at Gits were very ‘creative’ and ‘original’, huh? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    @ SB:
    Thanks for the two corrections, no not the spellings ๐Ÿ˜‰ I have changed those two lines. The first time I watched ‘Sound Of Music’, I was a real kid. My brother took me to that movie (surprise surprise, such things have occurred!) I have really lost count now. ahve watched that movie tons of times. And, it remains to be one of my all time favorites.

    @ pArijAta:
    Thanks, I have corrected the two lines. Yes, songs from ‘My Fair Lady’ are very nice as well (even the movie).

    @ neela:
    Me too ๐Ÿ™‚

    @ Aram:
    OK, so you will buy the first copy. Is there a second person in this World who would buy that book? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. krupa Says:

    I love all the songs of Sound Of music. I particularly like the song where the sisters sing about Maria.
    “how do you solve a problem like Maria?
    How do you catch a cloud and pin it down?
    How do you find a word that means Maria?
    A fibbertijibet! will-of-the-wisp! A clown!”

    And I still sing this song when I am nervous-
    “I have confidence in sunshine
    I have confidence in rain
    I have confidence that the spring will come again..
    Besides which you see I have confidence in me!”

    I even love the “Sounds of Music”,”Edelweiss”..”Do re mi”(particularly when they mix it all up-so do la fa me do re..so do la ti..me do re or something like that) and “Few of my favorite things”-this is the long way of saying that I love all the songs of this movie!:P

  12. Aram Says:

    “OK, so you will buy the first copy. Is there a second person in this World who would buy that book? ”

    Buy? Hey, I thought you would present me the first complimentary copy for coming up with such a brilliant idea!

    Anyway, going by the number of your fans here and in the U.S., I shall underwrite 100 copies. In rupees terms, of course!

    Is that motivation enough?


  13. @ krupa:
    Yep, I love all the songs too. They are all masterpieces.

    @ Aram:
    Yes it. But first you should probably buy my book which is already published ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. Aram Says:

    Certainly! With pleasure !
    but which author shall I say at the bookshop?
    I don’t think there are any books by December Stud.
    I did call up Sahitya Bhandara just now.

  15. mouna Says:

    lovely stuff. myart teacher and i used to sing the song during class. the same song used to entertain my niece a lot. nice memories. thanks ds! ๐Ÿ™‚


  16. @ Aram:
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

    @ Mouna:
    No problem. I love these songs ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

