Music And Moods

My wife and I had a romantic dinner. We came back home and started listening to melodious hits from ‘Gupt’, ‘Dil Se’, ‘Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gam’, ‘Kabhi Haa Kabhi Naa’, ‘Rampur Ki Lakshman’, ‘1947:Earth’, ‘Suraj Ka Sathwa Ghoda’, ‘Satyam Shivam Sundaram’, ‘Aa Gale Lag Ja’ and others.

Needless to say, it was a beautiful evening and I enjoyed every minute of it.  Music is so powerful. It can create the perfect atmosphere.

My wife is sleeping now. And being a night owl, I continued listening to more songs. I clicked on “Tera Mujhse Hai Pehle” from ‘Aa Gale Lag Ja’. That suddenly turned the wheel in a different direction. After that I went onto listen to “Tumse Milke” from ‘Pyaar Jhukta Nahin’. And then, yes you guessed it right, “Nee Meetida Nenapellavu” from ‘Nee Bareda Kadambari’. And, now I am back listening to “Tera Mujhse Hai Pehle”.

Music is so powerful. I always knew that. But being super romantic to downright hurt within a few hours is not something which I experience everyday. I have realized that writing is the best medicine I can ever get. Even if it is the form of a dumb post!

Explore posts in the same categories: Life, Music

13 Comments on “Music And Moods”

  1. Veena Says:

    huh! I was expecting that you would take out some similarities out of all and then tell us how people rob the tunes or something like that 🙂

  2. rads Says:

    Blogging is the online aspirin. Music is the ultimate antidote. 🙂

    This too shall pass.


  3. OOOOH, I’m a bit disappointed, you know. I was expecting to read that you wrote a new poem!

  4. Srik Says:

    Yes, music is a soul soothing art. It is powerful. It is a great companion when you are studying for exam, when you are sitting in a bus, when you are doing some stupid thing, or when you are in the midst of a romantic dinner.

    On the other hand, Music is everywhere. You need to have an ear thats all 🙂

    I expected a poem here, if not anything else.

  5. praneshachar Says:

    certainly we missed a poem after a romantic dinner and listening to great songs.
    music can give lot of comfort and if you hear it and enjoy it thoroughly.
    music is everywhere you need to have an ear hear thats all I second words of srik

  6. Aram Says:

    “Music is so powerful. It can create the perfect atmosphere.”

    Also, the perfect atmosphere maximizes the impact of soulful music. One reason why hindustani concerts in the good old days used to be held late in the night when everything else is quiet.

    “But being super romantic to downright hurt within a few hours is not something which I experience everyday.”

    Reminds me of an old Long Play recording of Ustad Khan Sahib Imrat Khan featuring Raag Baageshwari followed by the fast tempoed Raageshwari. The Baageshri depicts the virahabhaava and makes the listener feel “downright hurt.” This is followed by the delightful and ecstatic Raageshri where the forlorn lover meets her beau and her joy knows no bounds.

    Guess life is all the more lovely when one first goes through agony, suffering and biraha phase before rediscovering bliss and joy of reuniting.

  7. neel3 Says:

    Your’dumb’ post speaks volumes…

  8. neelanjana Says:

    Aram’s example of bAgESrI and rAgESrI is indeed very apt.

    The effect of these melodies on people is varied though. I, for one, go for the musical value of it – and so I like to listen to a good bilAskhAni tODi, basant mukhAri, shubha pantuvarALi, varALi or hamsAnandi any time of the day. However, I have strict orders from you know who 🙂 not to sing anything that even remotely suggests shOka rasa when she is around!

    -neelanjana

  9. aram Says:

    Thanks Neelanjana! Glad to have been right for once.

    BTW, if DS will kindly pardon me for using his page, we have a small personal problem. I built for my mausi and myself two huge collections of recorded Hindustani classical music – starting with LPs, Tapes, CDs, DVDs, and now IPods – it would take a month or more of non-stop listening to finish the whole collection. The problem is what to do with this vast collection – whom to bequeath it so that it can be preserved well for the benefit of future generations. A recent bereavement has only added more western classical LPs!

    Any suggestions?

  10. neelanjana Says:

    aram,

    I definitely have a suggestion. I am fortunate to know some wonderful people who have done great work in preserving recordings 🙂 Tell me where I could reach you (e-mail). We can discuss this.

    -neelanjana

  11. Aram Says:

    Thanks again, Neelanjana!

    It would be wonderful if this will be based in Kannada Naadu.

    Please do mail me at Aram6953@yahoo.co.in


  12. @ Veena:
    Nope, that won’t qualify under the “moods” tag. Talking of your point, I did find out recently that “Tera Mujhse Hai Pehle” is a copy…ummmm….

    @ Rads:
    Absolutely…no arguments there!!!

    @ Suptadeepti:
    Naah….just finished a prose though. Will send it your way.

    @ Srik:
    Seriosuly, I just could not listen to music when I studied for exams. It had to be pin drop silence. ‘chaMchala manassu’. It was really ahrd for me to concentrate if there was music when I was studying. Actually, I do remember running down from my room and switching on TV because I heard good music from my neighbor’s television. I started watching TV and stopped studying, the next day was my 10th standard exams!!! I do agree with you that we need good music, music is certainly everywhere. Good point!

    @ Praneshachar:
    Yes, I agree with Srik and you. That is very well put by Srik.

    @ Neel3:
    Thanks…I thought the post was cryptic. You are smart 😉

    @ Aram:
    You should allow us to record a few of them when I come to India next time. It is certainly important to preserve them. Hope you got a good contact from neelanjana. And, I am sur eyou know this, we never had all-nighters in the old Mysore area. And, my wife went to all-nighters where she grew up. There’s a reason why she associates bAgEshri with sleep 🙂

    @ neelanjana:
    True, when you speak of classical music. When it is light music, I ‘think’ the lyrics probably play an equally important role, if not more. And, perhaps that’s the reason why ‘simpler’ rAgas such as mOhana, shaMkarAbharaNa, kalyANi and kIravaNi are popular in light music.

  13. Aram Says:

    “You should allow us to record a few of them when I come to India next time.”
    Certainly, with pleasure. Will also ask the donees to do so in case we are not around during your visit here.

    Thanks to your site, I did get a good contact from Neelanjana as well as from Praneshachar who suggested Bellur who in turn expressed his interest as well as suggested the organization Ananya of Malleshwaram who are doing pioneering digitization work.

    “And, my wife went to all-nighters where she grew up. There’s a reason why she associates bAgEshri with sleep…”

    When one wants to enjoy a full night baithak, one must go well-prepared with a full day’s sleep. I recall attending the Sawai Gandharva Punyathithi at Kundagol where I could not enjoy most of Basavaraja Rajaguru’s soulful singing because of drowsiness, having spent the day visiting the Siddhaaroodha Matha in Hubli. But then, I suspect you just wanted to make light of the serious Baageshri. 🙂


Leave a Reply

