Devanand’ed

I was writing an article about my father, and it occurred to me that Devanand played such a big part in our lives. Here’s the story:

As a kid, I hated to comb my hair. I would just run away at the mention of the word comb. My father was totally frustrated. He loved the fact that I had such thick wavy hair and he was scared that I would become bald at a very young age. I mean how can the hair survive without seeing a drop of coconut oil, it toally beat him. So, naturally he was very concerned. No amount of pleading or prodding helped.

Finally he came up with a brilliant idea. He called me and said “DS, come over here, I will comb your hair and make you Devanand”. I had no idea who or what Devanand was. But, from his tone, I assumed that Devanand must be something or someone big. I instantly wanted to be like Devanand. Without a word, I obliged. Needless to say, he was thrilled and poured an entire bottle of coconut oil on my head.

This continued for several years. he would call me to “make me look like Devanand”. And, after oiling and combing my hair, he would look at me and say “DS, you look exactly like Devanand”. I was thrilled, still having no idea what or who Devanand was.

After a few years, I did find out who Devanand was. Whatever the reason was, I became a huge fan of Devanand (no, not the combing, I think it’s the music in his movies which caught my attention!). And, I still am a big fan of Devanand.

As you can guess, once I started going to college, my father’s Devanand trick stopped working. I was back to my old self and made sure not a drop of oil touched my hair. My father managed to catch hold of me sometimes and poured oil liberally on my head. Forget the college years, he even did it when I went back to India for vacation now.

Beautiful memories!!! As for my hair, it’s still thick and full, inspite of hardly seeing any oil.  I bet it has something to do with my father and his prayers!!!.

Explore posts in the same categories: Home, Movies

17 Comments on “Devanand’ed”

  1. parijaatha Says:

    You heartless man! bragging about hair when people are lamenting here!;)

    By the way,I like Devanand too!!

  2. some body Says:

    d.s.:

    i can bet that now people say:

    ‘buddy, put some coconut oil on your head, else you’ll look like devanand!’ 😉

    – s.b.


  3. Ironic that he should choose Dev Anand who I think went bald at a very early age. 🙂

  4. neel3 Says:

    Persistence, thy name is Devanand.
    He is like inspired King Bruce, If at first you don’t succeed,try…
    To a mother of a boy who hates the word ‘comb’ , I salute your father’s persistence and patience.
    My mother used to tell me that oil on the head meant better vision…
    What are the tricks parents don’t try to make kids behave ?

  5. pArijAta Says:

    Beautiful… The music in Devanand’s movies, kid running away from the comb, Dad trying to comb son’s hair – all of them!

  6. Veena Says:

    Next time when you vist the parlour to have your haircut(remember that lady), she would say.. which style do you like..? Devanand …??

  7. praneshachar Says:

    devanand evergreen hero ds too because he is devanada and manasige ananda
    tarle talege yenne haki illa andre bald agtira bega devanand taraha
    nice recollection of child hood days of u and u mention even now u will have that
    when u visit india. I have seen lot of fathers doing this yenne haccho kale karagatha madikondirodanna.

  8. Aram Says:

    Poignant story, especially for me coming from a family where for generations the father figures rarely doted over their progeny, even myself included.

    However, a small slip of the word in your otherwise beautiful narration – When using direct speech as you did, substitution of the word “Magoo/Child” in place of “DS” would have sounded more natural. 🙂

    Your post makes me ruminate about this topic of bringing up kids. It is not enough to just sire the kids and allow nature to take charge. One must also “GROOM” the kids properly to enable them to grow up to become like another DS – adept in the 64 plus ten more arts!

    Mere words showering affection or even actions like sending them to good school, spending quality time with them, etc. are certainly good. But not enough…. the father should also practise the personal TOUCH!

    I recall when my kid was a baby and I had an offer of a job which would have enabled me to see the world, travelling most of the time. My sensible best half pleaded that the child needed the father at least for the first 5 years.

    Hope you will write a full length biography on your father, instead of just an article, so that future fathers will know how to “groom!”

  9. Aram Says:

    @s.b.:

    ‘buddy, put some coconut oil on your head, else you’ll look like devanand!’

    That was reall witty!!!

  10. neela Says:

    @aram : cvery well written comment.about father’s role in upbringing. My son is lucky to have a father who realises the value of touch. I totally concur with your views.

  11. mouna Says:

    my father is called as devanand by his friends. it’s all a matter of fun for them. something like, ‘nodri, namma devanand bandru, trim aagi dress maDkonDu’

    (inshallah!) 😀

  12. Aram Says:

    @Neela:

    Thanks Neela. Actually, it is the creativity of DS which makes me think; I only act as a mirror reflecting his brilliance.

    Your son is indeed very lucky.

    Son? singular?

    Please read my reply to Turanga in Parijata’s blog http://parijata.blogspot.com/2008/01/sringeri-gods-own-abode.html#links

    If good people don’t proliferate, the world will soon be filled with evil fanatics.

    Regards
    Aram

  13. neela Says:

    @aram: You are too humble.
    Sadly, singular.
    I read your reply.
    I had wished for three..
    But God waits for us to propose..He loves to dispose!!

  14. Aram Says:

    @Neela:

    God helps
    Only those who themselves! 🙂


  15. @ parijaatha:
    Your problems revolve around greying and not balding (thank God!), so no I am not bragging 🙂

    @ SB:
    LOL……I know I know……I should really start oiling it up!!!

    @ BS:
    Wigs are wonderful, huh?

    @ neel3:
    Yes, my father came up with all kinds of stories. I guess when you have stubborn kids, parents’ creative juices start flowing big time 🙂

    @ parijatha:
    Thanks.

    @ Veena:
    Ha Ha…I think I should just stump her by asking for Devanand style haircut even before she utters a word. Talking of which, she is now in the process of setting up a bigger saloon.

    @ praneshachar:
    Thanks…yes, I should start putting oil…I better……before it’s too late!!!

    @ Aram:
    I agree the usage of ‘DS’ was not right in the direct speech. I knew that when I wrote, but ‘child/magoo’ didn’t strike me!!! And yes, it is super importnat for a father to be heavily involved in the child’s life. I am certainly very lucky to have a father who loved me very much and was a part of every success story I had.

    @ mouna:
    Does your father put oil to his head? 🙂

  16. Shiv Says:

    DS,

    I am smelling lots of coocnut oil in this post..
    Did you recently become brand ambassador of Parachute 🙂


Leave a Reply

