A Cat Has Nine Lives

Two down, seven more to go!!!

I was driving back home after a hectic Sunday. My wife was sitting next to me. My sister-in-law, her husband and kid were in the back seat.

I had entered the city. I had passed a traffic light and could see that the next traffic light had turned from red to green. There was sufficient time to reach that intersection. I was within speed limits, driving at 45 mph in the middle lane and there were no vehicles in front of me. The cars on the other two lanes had not yet started. I was driving fine since I had the green anyway.

My sister-in-law screamed saying that a vehicle from the opposite direction was cutting the red light. Immediately I slowed down a bit. But, I had already come to the intersection. I put on brakes so fast. The guy who had cut red light had a huge trailer attached to his pick up truck and he stopped right in the middle of the intersection. I knew I had to move to the right in order to avoid hitting the pick up truck head-on. I swerved to the right and thank God the car in the right lane had not yet started. For a second, the pick up truck and my car had stopped right at the intersection, within a whisker’s width.

Normally, I would have made a big deal out of this. I was so shocked by the turn of events, that I just drove away the next second. It was such a narrow miss. Thanks to my sister-in-law, we are all still in one piece.

And, shame on all the idiots who skip the red light.

Explore posts in the same categories: Home

5 Comments on “A Cat Has Nine Lives”


  1. Dude, glad to hear you are ok. That’s the second close escape you seem to have had.

    A similar incident happened to me as well, a few years ago. As you said, the adrenaline rush was so severe that I was just sitting in my car dazed.

  2. praneshachar Says:

    jugh jugh jiyo mere yaar. hats off to presence of mind of your SIL who was alert and cautioned you without getting into any panic and you too handled the situation cool
    glad this issue went off for good of all of u and us. have great day once out of danger may god bless u all for a healthy happy prosperous day and long long life

  3. rads Says:

    hehe, so we are all catty 😉

    Glad ure ok. 🙂

  4. Harsha Says:

    Thank God! You are ok! Drive carefully


  5. @ BPSK:
    Yep, second big one…oh well….;)

    @ praneshachar:
    Thank you sir!

    @ rads:
    Oh, aren’t we? 😉

    @ Harsha:
    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

