GTN

Prof. GT Narayana Rao passed away last week. His passion for music and science reminds me of Einstein. GTN, as he was fondly called, lived very close to my home in Mysore. I remember how he brushed his teeth in the evenings with sticks wrapped in neem leaves. And, he tried to make me do that. Well, the high school kid with a sweet tooth never did that.

Perhaps he is the first person who explained to me the basics behind astronomy. As I stood amazed and delighted gazing at hundreds of stars in the night sky, he explained the principles of astronomy in such a simple way that the primary school student didn’t find it hard to understand.

Most notably, GTN was the revered and favorite music critique for Mysoreans. His writings in the local newspaper, Star od Mysore, was truly cherished.

Who can ever forget GTN walking in and around Saraswathipuram, wearing the regular pristine white dress. Did I say that he reminds me so much of my grand father?

The last time I saw him, I was sitting in the living room, crying uncontrollably. He didn’t say a word, just looked down and walked away. Yes, he knew my father very well.

GTN, salut sir. May your soul rest in peace (I am not so sure you believed in that though!)

Explore posts in the same categories: Raindrops

6 Comments on “GTN”

  1. Veena Says:

    Infact I saw him month back near tha veena seshanna bhavana and was thinking I should go and meet him sometime but alas I never thought this would happen.

    I remember the critic writeup he used to give on the music concerts during dasara time… When I think of GTN, lot of things get reminded about his interest towards music, his book grahana , and of course his white dress…

    RIP GTN..

  2. praneshachar Says:

    a great tribute by one who closely seen him and fortunate to have his blessings. simply marvellous. last line is opt
    may the great soul Rest In Peace and search more and more

  3. sunaath Says:

    You were lucky to be in his neighbourhood.

  4. srik Says:

    RIP GTN sir.

    Though I did not know him/ know about him, he seems to be a great source of inspiration for old time Mysoreans. These elders are the face of our cultural identity,

  5. Satish Says:

    He taught us astronomy for a year in school. His range of knowledge is truly commendable. Rest in peace.

  6. Cacydomy Says:

    I agreed with you


Leave a Reply

