Indian Stereotypes

With so much diversity in India, branding and stereotyping is expected. Here is my take. I have included people who speak the following languages: Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Marathi, Malayalam, Oriya, Punjabi, Tami, Telugu. I am sure you are all smart enough to figure out who is who. 

  • Can you speak my mother tongue? No? Alright, I will settle for English, only if you speak in my accent.
  • Of course I can speak your mother tongue. I can speak any language other than my own mother tongue. I have to admit that I do have a soft corner for English.
  • Can you understand every word of your National anthem? So, what’s wrong with me and my ego?
  • You are laughing at my English grammar? Wait until you hear my accent. And, I am quite loud.
  • Sure, I am mediocre. But why do you care? Anyway I move around only with people from my state. And honestly, my only concern in life is my best friend’s salary.
  • Yes really, that is my mother tongue. I am from India….God promise.
  • I am the king. Lick my feet.
  • I hate anyone who is not my religion. I hate anyone who is not from my state. I hate anyone who doesn’t speak my language. And really, I prefer you associate me with North more than South.
  • Yeah I am fat. So what? Go ahead and crack one more joke on me.
  • No really, I am speaking English. it just sounds like my mother tongue that’s all.
Explore posts in the same categories: India, Raindrops

37 Comments on “Indian Stereotypes”

  1. Vijay Says:

    1= Tam, 2= Kannada .. the others I am not smart enough… 😦

  2. Aram Says:

    Good one. Looks like you have caught the classification bug.

  3. pArijAta Says:

    5 is Telugu, and 10 is Malayalam? 8 is Marathi?

  4. Srik Says:

    Let me take a chance
    1. Tamil
    2. Kannada
    3. Bengali
    4. Malayalam
    5. Telugu
    6. Hindi
    7. Punjabi
    8. Marathi
    9. Gujrati
    10. Oriya

  5. rads Says:

    lol, I am not playing this game 😀

  6. some body Says:

    d.s.:

    i have to confess that this is more funny and imaginative [maybe some are easier too] than the rambler‘s match the logo riddles ;-). but we really should get answers, otherwise no fair!

    btw, i thought #9 was a no-brainer, but looks like i was wrong.

    – s.b.

  7. Veena Says:

    oh!! I really cant understand this whole riddle 🙂 Is it so common that it can be generalised ??


  8. @ Vijay:
    Those two were the easiest, huh?

    @ Aram:
    I guess….

    @ pArijAta:
    Yep 🙂

    @ Srik:
    50%…that hard, huh? 😉

    @ Rads:
    Awwww…come oooon….you should know your brethren 😉

    @ SB:
    Sure, i will give out the answers. And, yes I still think #9 is a ‘no-brainer’.

    @ Veena:
    Don’t we stereotype all the time?

  9. mouna Says:

    don’t u think that the first one and the last one has a lot of similarity?

    as aram says, u really have caught this disease. what next is in the pipeline?

  10. Aram Says:

    Just for the sake of participating…
    1. Tamil
    2. Kannada
    3. Bengali
    4. Oriya
    5. Telugu
    6. Punjabi
    7. Hindi
    8. Marathi
    9. Gujarati
    10. Malayalam

  11. Aram Says:

    Once the fun of solving this is over, and if we want to stretch this a little further to derive maximum advantage of DS’ brains, I guess we can also be a little serious and ask ourselves “why we are the way we are.”

    Since the majority of us reading DS are Kannadigas, let us start looking at ourselves first.

  12. Pavan Says:

    Hope I haven’t stepped on anybody’s nerves:

    1. Tamilian : I would prefer conversing in sign language than talking in Hindi.
    2. Kannada : (song)Naavaaduva Nudiye English Nudi, Sandalwood temple..(/song)
    3. Bengali : We have more per capita freedom fighters than any other state
    4. Malayalam : We are NOT tamilians, for Pete’s sake. And no, pr0n is not our fav. pass time.
    5. Telugu : We dont talk to non-gult “aliens”. We speak Telugu, Java and SAP.
    6. Hindi : My grandpa rolls in his grave when somebody asks if I speak Indian.
    7. Punjabi : Larger than life (pun unintended), pompous. World revolves around us.
    8. Marathi : We beat Bengalis in patriotism (we believe so)
    9. Gujrati : bhai/ben, Money is the universal language.


  13. @ Mouna:
    Not really. I think they are quite different.

    @ Aram:
    70 %…not bad 😉 I guess this is the righ time to say that my wife got 100% 🙂
    Yes, your suggestion is good. I will have a post on that soon (hopefully!).

    @ Pavan:
    Welcome to my blog. LOL…awesome list dude…had a hearty laugh.

  14. some body Says:

    pavan:

    meeru oracle cheppandi, nenu maatluntaanu 🙂 [sorry, i have been away from my we-speak-telugu-during-lunch-hour gang for the last two years (different job), so my skills have deteriorated. but look at the good news, i am learning tamil now!]

    re: #3, do you know the bearded punjabi vs. bearded bengali joke?

    d.s.:

    i attribute that to either telepathy (she divined the answers right out your head) or her influence skills (getting you to write up this riddle on her behalf, i.e., this is really her question paper). 😉 if neither, you need to stop talking in your sleep!!

    bottom line: if aram got 70%, let me rearrange and see if i have a chance. taking aram’s answers as a jumping off point, here is my attempt (i am only writing the ones i think are different from his):

    6. hindi
    7. gujarati
    9. punjabi

    – s.b.

  15. nilagriva Says:

    DS,
    What is your final list?


  16. @ SB:
    ….and it’s still at 70%. Now it really looks like this is becoming a good analytical question 😉

    As for my wife, nothing complicated, she is just too smart 🙂

    @ nilagriva:
    Soon…..I assume you got all right? 😉

  17. Aram Says:

    DS:

    After entering the blogosphere in the last couple of months, (thanks to URA/SLB spat), I have started visiting Sampada, Thatskannada, majavani, etc.

    You are such a prolific, masterful, creative writer – I wonder why you don’t write there.

    Or are you writing there in your official/other names?

    There is a continued hot discussion going on in sampada on the need for using pure kannada.

    Being a true Kannadiga, I am also very much guilty of being in the second category in your Indian Stereotypes.

    It occurs to me this particular post of yours should also have featured in Sampada because of its relevance in the middle of the discussion going on there about using less of sakkadha and more of ಸುದ್ದಗನ್ನಡ.

    I would love to hear your views about the need for us Kannadigas to observe too much ಮಡಿವಂತಿಕೆ and use pure kannada.

    Speaking for myself, my tendency has always been that of a Kannadiga – to make myself understood in a language that my audience understands better and using a language in which I am fluent, which is either English or Samskrutized Kannada.

    Getting the message across has always been my primary concern.

    I don’t know if this is right or wrong.

    I shall be grateful for your guidance.

    — Confused and not so ಆರಾಮ್

  18. neelanjana Says:

    @Aram.

    Why do you think he is not writing there?

    -neelanjana

  19. neelanjana Says:

    And about falling to category 2 as a kannaDiga – I am glad to say even though I can speak 2-3 other ‘non’ mother-tongues, do speak them at times with those folks, the moment I know they know at least some Kannada, I pull the conversation into kannaDa 🙂

    -neelankana


  20. @ Aram:
    Yes, I have been contributing to some other sites using my real name from past several years 😉

    @ neelanjana:
    Who are you? 🙂 You seem to know who I am 😉 And yes, even I fall in your category. My second preference has always been English. I will not talk in Hindi. I am still upset that I was forced to study Hindi over Sanskrit in school. Long story, worth another post.

  21. Aram Says:

    @ Neelanjana
    I thought he was not writing elsewhere as I never saw the name December Stud on those sites.

    @DS:
    I see you refuse to be drawn into controversies. Anyway, it was worth trying to draw you out.

  22. neelanjana Says:

    @ds

    I only said there is no need to assume, since anyone can have multiple identities 😉

    I did speak in Hindi with others before – probably because Hindi was not forced on me, and I studied it as only as a 3rd language. Until I moved out of Karnataka, I can probably count the number of Hindi movies I had seen with one hand !

    Now, establising the identity is left as an excercise 🙂 Who doesn’t like a good puzzle?

    -neelanjana


  23. @ neelanjana:
    LOL…I just finished playing they “guess who am I?” game with one other person. We have been exchanging a lot of emails ever since 🙂 You shouldn’t be all that hard to find, more so since you seem to be almost a neighbor anyway 😉

  24. neelanjana Says:

    🙂

  25. Aram Says:

    “Now, establising the identity is left as an excercise Who doesn’t like a good puzzle?”

    I like good puzzles with answers given and I usually do them backwards that is from looking at the answers first.

    The significant clue about DS’ puzzle is his statement that his is a transparent burkha.

  26. bachodi Says:

    good one ,
    i dint get who is “I am the king. Lick my feet.”

  27. krupa Says:

    Generalisation based on good observation….particularly the 2nd and the 6th one!


  28. @ neelanjana:
    :)…nothing more yet.

    @ Aram:
    Don’t mistake me for ‘somebody’ else 😉

    @ Bachodi:
    Awww, really?

    @ krupa:
    Welcome to my blog. Thank you!!!

    And, here are my ‘answers’. Strictly my observations…you are free to differ:

    1 – Ta
    2 – K
    3 – B
    4 – G
    5 – Te
    6 – O
    7 – H
    8 – Mar
    9 – P
    10 – Mal

  29. The Bach Says:

    oota ayta

    “Saaptaccahaa..?””uNu Kazhinyo.”kabar kecho..””kalei vanakkam..””kee gal he..””nandri””bhojanam ayinda ..” etc. etc.
    .. But nobody ever asked me “oota ayta, saar”. whats wrong with my lan…

  30. Aram Says:

    “Don’t mistake me for ’somebody’ else ”

    hehehe!!

    I know you are certainly not our own favorite, “s.b.” = “somebody.”

    But, I also know that you still are “SOME Body” because without that impressive Body, you wouldn’t call yourself a Stud.

  31. Aram Says:

    The Bach’s last line “.. But nobody ever asked me “oota ayta, saar”. whats wrong with my lan…” deserves a serious post by you.

    I am just reminding you of your word:”I will have a post on that soon (hopefully!).”


  32. @ bachodi:
    Try a “ooTa Aytu” for an answer next time 🙂

    @ Aram:
    I did mention in one of my earleir posts that I am an underwear model, didn’t I ? 😉 And yes, I will get to that post soon (again, I hope!).

  33. tarlesubba Says:

    But, I also know that you still are “SOME Body” because without that impressive Body, you wouldn’t call yourself a Stud.

    did mention in one of my earlier posts that I am an underwear model, didn’t I ?

    rofl!!! ayyo raama nakku nakku hoTTe noyythaide.

    i can go on and on about how DC has both objectified the man as a physical object and simultaneously emancipated the notion of a stud, by using it as his blogging id, but i’ll a spare you guys all the nonsense.

    i can however attest that there was a time when our man modeled roopa’s banian extensively.

    cooling glassu, jeans pyanTu, bata chappli, kappu loona, aagella ipod, geepod ella irlilla, so dhaNigaLe haaDthidru.

    raayara meravaNige bantu andre kuyempunagara sarsvatipura huDugeer ella puDi puDi. hange kargog thidru.

    vegadd bhoota bere. raayrige breaku , centripetal force enu gottirlilla, yaardo kivi hinDida hange aa loona accelerator hinDidde hinDiddu.

    yen vayyara, yen sambhrama. idella noDakke, keLakke eraDu kaNN eraDu kivi saaka ond jeevana saaka? easily the most original and well rounded character i have seen in my life.

    sorry kaNNayya yennadru hecchu kammi heLidre. nenap aadange bareetha hode.

  34. some body Says:

    tarle:

    “yaardo kivi hinDida hange aa loona accelerator hinDidde hinDiddu.”

    rotfl!!!!

    somebody (not me) please hire tarle as dialogue writer/song writer for m.m.’s next movie!!!!!! first that world cup song, and now this – salim/javed are in trouble if you venture into hindi :-).

    – s.b.


  35. @ TS:
    Alright, I have to admit that you are too damn funny. I am rolling on floor laughing, uncontrollably!!! Dude, don’t spill out too many things…1) What if some of those girls visit my blog. With your description, they can easily figure out who I am. 2) My wife may start asking me too many questions. 3) Well, two reasons are good enough 🙂

    I do have to admit that I do not speed all that much now…..

    “easily the most original and well rounded character i have seen in my life.”

    If only “character” was replaced by “person”, it would have been such a great compliment 😉

    As SB says, you should try movies….

    @ SB:
    This is my blog…stop praising others 🙂

  36. tarlesubba Says:

    vo sambaDigaLe have you read keshva & nani? amazing writing.

  37. Aram Says:

    ಸುಬ್ಬಣ್ಣೋರೆ: ಡಿಎಸ್ ರವರ ಲೀಲೆಗಳನ್ನು ನೆನಪಿಸಿ, ಅವರ ಬುರಖಾದ ಅಂಚನ್ನು ಕೊಂಚ ಸರಿಸಿದ್ದಕ್ಕಾಗಿ ವಂದನೆಗಳು.

    ಸಂಬಡಿ ಯವರು ಸೂಚಿಸಿ, ಡಿಎಸ್ ರವರು ಅನುಮೋದಿಸಿದ ಹಾಗೆ ತಾವು ಚಲಚಿತ್ರರಂಗದಲ್ಲಿ ಚೆನ್ನಾಗಿ ಮಿಂಚಬಲ್ಲಿರಿ.


Leave a Reply

